## RESOLUTION

WHEREAS, Frutoso M. Gomez Jr. is retiring as chief appraiser
for the Cameron Appraisal District in April 2017, concluding an
exemplary career that has spanned 35 years; and

WHEREAS, Hired by the district in 1982, Mr. Gomez served in a number of capacities, including area manager and director of real estate, before becoming chief appraiser in 2003; he began his career in public service in 1974 as a deputy tax collector and appraiser with the Cameron County Tax Office; a registered professional appraiser, he is also a certified tax administrator and chief appraiser; and

11 WHEREAS, Dedicated to his profession, Mr. Gomez has been very 12 active at both the state and local levels of the Texas Association 13 of Assessing Officers and the Texas Association of Appraisal 14 Districts; he has served TAAD as the trustee for Region 1 and as 15 vice president of the South Texas Chapter, and he has been the 16 Region 5 director for TAAO; moreover, he currently serves as chair 17 of the Institute of Certified Tax Administrators board; and

18 WHEREAS, Mr. Gomez has demonstrated an exceptional commitment to his community as well; he has served as president of 19 the San Benito Kiwanis Club and as co-chair of the City of San 20 21 Benito's Planning and Zoning Board; in addition, he gives generously of his time and talents to the Rio Grande State 22 23 Center/South Texas Health Care System, the H-E-B Feast of Sharing, 24 and United Blood Services, and he frequently shares his expertise

1

1 with local clubs and boards; and

2 WHEREAS, Through his leadership, skill, and professionalism, 3 Frutoso Gomez has greatly benefited his fellow citizens, and as he 4 embarks on the next exciting chapter of his life, he may reflect 5 with pride on his many contributions; now, therefore, be it

6 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 85th Texas 7 Legislature hereby congratulate Frutoso M. Gomez Jr. on his 8 retirement as chief appraiser for the Cameron Appraisal District 9 and extend to him sincere best wishes for the future; and, be it 10 further

11 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be 12 prepared for Mr. Gomez as an expression of high regard by the Texas 13 House of Representatives.

Lucio III

Straus Allen Alonzo Alvarado Anchia Anderson of Dallas Anderson of McLennan Arévalo Ashby Bailes Bell Bernal Biedermann Blanco Bohac Bonnen of Brazoria Bonnen of Galveston Burkett Burns Burrows Button Cain Canales Capriglione Clardy Coleman Collier Cook Cortez Cosper Craddick Cyrier Dale Darby Davis of Dallas Davis of Harris Dean Deshotel Dukes Dutton Elkins Faircloth Fallon Farrar Flynn Frank Frullo Geren Gervin-Hawkins Giddings

González of El Paso Gooden Guerra Guillen Gutierrez Hefner Hernandez Herrero Hinojosa Holland Howard Huberty Hunter Isaac Israel Johnson of Dallas Johnson of Harris Kacal Keough King of Hemphill King of Parker King of Uvalde Klick Коор Krause Kuempel Lambert Landgraf Lang Larson Laubenberg Leach Longoria Lozano Lucio III Martinez Metcalf Meyer Miller Minjarez Moody Morrison Muñoz, Jr. Murphy Murr Neave Nevárez Oliveira

Goldman

Oliverson Gonzales of Williamson Ortega Paddie Parker Paul Perez Phelan Phillips Pickett Price Raney Raymond Reynolds Rinaldi Roberts Rodriguez of Bexar Rodriguez of Travis Romero, Jr. Rose Sanford Schaefer Schofield Schubert Shaheen Sheffield Shine Simmons Smithee Springer Stephenson Stickland Stucky Swanson Thierry Thompson of Brazoria Thompson of Harris Tinderholt Turner Uresti VanDeaver Villalba Vo Walle White Wilson Workman Wray Wu Zedler Zerwas

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 1365 was adopted by the House on April 10, 2017, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House