RESOLUTION

WHEREAS, Masjid At-Tawhid in Houston is celebrating its fifth
anniversary from April 21 to 23, 2017; and

3 WHEREAS, А faith-based community service center, Masjid At-Tawhid was founded in 2012 and settled into its permanent 4 5 home the following year; the organization serves residents of the Fifth Ward, Kashmere Gardens, Trinity Gardens, and East Houston, 6 7 offering free hot meals, groceries, and clothing, as well as spiritual support, without regard to race, ethnicity, religion, or 8 9 walk of life; and

10 WHEREAS, The center is led by Imam Qasim ibn Ali Khan, its 11 director; with the assistance of dedicated volunteers, he fosters 12 an atmosphere of peaceful coexistence and works to give hope to 13 those who struggle; he also coordinates with other civic and 14 religious leaders for the benefit of area residents; and

15 WHEREAS, Since its inception, Masjid At-Tawhid has helped to 16 enhance quality of life for members of the community, and it is 17 truly a pleasure to join in commemorating this milestone; now, 18 therefore, be it

19 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 85th Texas 20 Legislature hereby congratulate Masjid At-Tawhid on its fifth 21 anniversary and extend to all those associated with the center 22 sincere best wishes for continued success; and, be it further

RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
prepared for Masjid At-Tawhid as an expression of high regard by the

1

1 Texas House of Representatives.

Dutton

Oliverson

Straus Allen Alonzo Alvarado Anchia Anderson of Dallas Anderson of McLennan Arévalo Ashby Bailes Bell Bernal Biedermann Blanco Bohac Bonnen of Brazoria Bonnen of Galveston Burkett Burns Burrows Button Cain Canales Capriglione Clardy Coleman Collier Cook Cortez Cosper Craddick Cyrier Dale Darby Davis of Dallas Davis of Harris Dean Deshotel Dukes Dutton Elkins Faircloth Fallon Farrar Flynn Frank Frullo Geren Gervin-Hawkins Giddings

Gonzales of Williamson Ortega González of El Paso Gooden Guerra Guillen Gutierrez Hefner Hernandez Herrero Hinojosa Holland Howard Huberty Hunter Isaac Israel Johnson of Dallas Johnson of Harris Kacal Keough King of Hemphill King of Parker King of Uvalde Klick Коор Krause Kuempel Lambert Landgraf Lang Larson Laubenberg Leach Longoria Lozano Lucio III Martinez Metcalf Meyer Miller Minjarez Moody Morrison Muñoz, Jr. Murphy Murr Neave Nevárez Oliveira

Goldman

Paddie Parker Paul Perez Phelan Phillips Pickett Price Raney Raymond Reynolds Rinaldi Roberts Rodriguez of Bexar Rodriguez of Travis Romero, Jr. Rose Sanford Schaefer Schofield Schubert Shaheen Sheffield Shine Simmons Smithee Springer Stephenson Stickland Stucky Swanson Thierry Thompson of Brazoria Thompson of Harris Tinderholt Turner Uresti VanDeaver Villalba Vo Walle White Wilson Workman Wray Wu Zedler Zerwas

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 1379 was adopted by the House on April 20, 2017, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House