H.R. No. 1386

RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, The Austin Waldorf School boys' basketball team

again reached the pinnacle of success by winning the Texas

3 Association of Private and Parochial Schools Class 2A state

4 championship on March 3, 2017; and

2

13

5 WHEREAS, The Roadrunners went undefeated in district play for

6 the third consecutive year to earn a berth in the playoffs; during

7 its postseason run, the team dispatched opponents from Bryan Allen

8 Academy, Conroe Covenant Christian School, and Huntsville Alpha

9 Omega Academy to set up a championship battle against the All Saints

10 Episcopal School of Lubbock; and

11 WHEREAS, The teams were evenly matched throughout the first

12 two quarters of the title game, with Austin Waldorf taking a 28-24

edge into halftime; the Roadrunners then added to their lead in the

14 third period and held off a resurgent Patriots offense in the last

15 frame to clinch the trophy by a final score of 70-64; the triumph

16 marked the team's second consecutive state crown and capped an

17 unforgettable season in which the squad compiled an impressive

18 record of 30 wins and only 3 losses; and

19 WHEREAS, Throughout the year, the Roadrunners were paced by a

20 number of standouts; Toby Marek, Connor Horton, and Ben Callahan

21 earned All-Tournament, All-State, and All-District honors, while

22 John Callahan and Andrew Bell were selected to the All-District

23 Second Team; moreover, Mr. Marek, Mr. Horton, and Mr. Bell garnered

24 Academic All-State accolades, and Ethan Denson was named an

H.R. No. 1386

- 1 All-District honorable mention; the squad also received valuable
- 2 contributions from the other members of the roster: Ian McGinn,
- 3 Aidan Cormier, Goodwin Bell, Bennett Hoisington, and Logan Morin;
- 4 head coach BJ Terrill, who was named the Class 2A Coach of the Year
- 5 by the Texas Association of Basketball Coaches for the second
- 6 consecutive year, helped to lead the team to victory along with
- 7 assistant coaches Connor O'Reilly and Santiago Paredes, special
- 8 assistant coach Rob Clifford, and athletic director Erik Olson; and
- 9 WHEREAS, In winning back-to-back state titles, the
- 10 Roadrunners of Austin Waldorf School have earned a place among the
- 11 elite teams in Texas high school basketball, and the players will
- 12 forever treasure their memories of this outstanding
- 13 accomplishment; now, therefore, be it
- RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 85th Texas
- 15 Legislature hereby congratulate the Austin Waldorf School boys'
- 16 basketball team on winning the 2017 TAPPS Class 2A state
- 17 championship and extend to the team's players, coaches, and staff
- 18 sincere best wishes for the future; and, be it further
- 19 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
- 20 prepared for the Roadrunners as an expression of high regard by the
- 21 Texas House of Representatives.

Workman

H.R. No. 1386

Straus Allen Alonzo Alvarado Anchia Anderson of Dallas Anderson of McLennan Arévalo Ashby Bailes Bell Bernal Biedermann Blanco Bohac Bonnen of Brazoria Bonnen of Galveston Burkett Burns Burrows Button Cain Canales Capriglione Clardy Coleman Collier Cook Cortez	Goldman Gonzales of Williamson González of El Paso Gooden Guerra Guillen Gutierrez Hefner Hernandez Herrero Hinojosa Holland Howard Huberty Hunter Isaac Israel Johnson of Dallas Johnson of Harris Kacal Keough King of Hemphill King of Parker King of Uvalde Klick Koop Krause Kuempel Lambert	Oliverson Ortega Paddie Parker Paul Perez Phelan Phillips Pickett Price Raney Raymond Reynolds Rinaldi Roberts Rodriguez of Bexar Rodriguez of Travis Romero, Jr. Rose Sanford Schaefer Schofield Schubert Shaheen Sheffield Shine Simmons Smithee Springer
Craddick Cyrier Dale	Lang Larson	Stickland Stucky Swanson
Darby	Laubenberg Leach	Thierry
Davis of Dallas	Longoria	Thompson of Brazoria
Davis of Harris Dean	Lozano Lucio III	Thompson of Harris Tinderholt
Deshotel	Martinez	Turner
Dukes	Metcalf	Uresti
Dutton	Meyer	VanDeaver
Elkins	Miller	Villalba
Faircloth	Minjarez	Vo
Fallon Farrar	Moody Morrison	Walle White
Flynn	Muñoz, Jr.	Wilson
Frank	Murphy	Workman
Frullo	Murr	Wray
Geren	Neave	Wu
Gervin-Hawkins	Nevárez	Zedler
Giddings	Oliveira	Zerwas

	H.R. No. 1386
	Speaker of the House
I certify that H.R. No. 1386 was	adopted by the House on April
19, 2017, by a non-record vote.	
_	

Chief Clerk of the House