H.R. No. 1400

RESOLUTION

- 1 WHEREAS, Staff members of the Travis County Mental Health
- 2 Public Defender office are observing the 10th anniversary of its
- 3 establishment in 2017; and
- WHEREAS, Founded in April 2007, the Travis County MHPD was
- 5 the nation's first stand-alone public defender's office dedicated
- 6 to serving clients with mental health issues; and
- 7 WHEREAS, Originally established with a grant from the Texas
- 8 Indigent Defense Commission, the MHPD represents indigent
- 9 individuals who have been charged with a misdemeanor in Travis
- 10 County and who have been diagnosed with a mental illness such as
- 11 schizophrenia, bipolar disorder, major depression, or
- 12 schizoaffective disorder; and
- WHEREAS, The MHPD is staffed with specially trained
- 14 attorneys, social workers, case workers, and support staff, all of
- 15 whom are dedicated public servants tasked with providing legal
- 16 representation and case management for their clients; the office
- 17 has grown in size and scope since it was founded, and it continues
- 18 to provide crucial and innovative services to the community; and
- 19 WHEREAS, Under the leadership of director Melissa McRoy
- 20 Shearer, the men and women of the Travis County MHPD advocate
- 21 tirelessly for their clients, working to ensure that their rights
- 22 are upheld and that they are treated with dignity and respect; now,
- 23 therefore, be it
- 24 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 85th Texas

H.R. No. 1400

- 1 Legislature hereby commemorate the 10th anniversary of the Travis
- 2 County Mental Health Public Defender office and extend to its staff
- 3 sincere best wishes for continued success in their important work;
- 4 and, be it further
- 5 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
- 6 prepared for the Travis County MHPD office as an expression of high
- 7 regard by the Texas House of Representatives.

Hinojosa Workman Rodriguez of Travis Howard Israel

H.R. No. 1400

Straus Goldman Oliverson Allen Gonzales of Williamson Ortega González of El Paso Alonzo Paddie Alvarado Gooden Parker Anchia Guerra Paul Anderson of Dallas Guillen Perez Anderson of McLennan Gutierrez Phelan Arévalo Hefner Phillips Ashby Hernandez Pickett Bailes Herrero Price Bell Hinojosa Raney Holland Bernal Raymond Biedermann Howard Reynolds Huberty Rinaldi Blanco Bohac Hunter Roberts Bonnen of Brazoria Isaac Rodriguez of Bexar Rodriquez of Travis Bonnen of Galveston Israel Johnson of Dallas Burkett Romero, Jr. Burns Johnson of Harris Rose Burrows Kacal Sanford Button Keough Schaefer King of Hemphill Schofield Cain Canales King of Parker Schubert Capriglione King of Uvalde Shaheen Sheffield Clardy Klick Коор Shine Coleman Collier Krause Simmons Cook Kuempel Smithee Cortez Lambert Springer Cosper Landgraf Stephenson Craddick Stickland Lang Larson Stucky Cyrier Dale Laubenberg Swanson Darby Thierry Leach Davis of Dallas Longoria Thompson of Brazoria Davis of Harris Thompson of Harris Lozano Lucio III Tinderholt Deshotel Martinez Turner Dukes Metcalf Uresti Dutton Meyer VanDeaver Miller Elkins Villalba Faircloth Minjarez Vo Fallon Walle Moody Farrar Morrison White Wilson Flynn Muñoz, Jr. Frank Murphy Workman Frullo Murr Wray Geren Neave Wıı Zedler Gervin-Hawkins Nevárez

Zerwas

Oliveira

Giddings

		H.R. No. 1400
		Speaker of the House
	I certify that H.R. No. 1400 wa	as adopted by the House on April
26,	2017, by a non-record vote.	
		Chief Clerk of the House