H.R. No. 1404

RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, Byron Berkley, president and CEO of Foothills 2 Entertainment in East Texas, has received the 2017 National 3 Association of Theatre Owners Marquee Award in recognition of his 4 leadership in the motion picture theater industry; and

5 WHEREAS, Born in California, Mr. Berkley began working at a movie house when he was still in high school; he joined the United 6 California Theatres circuit and managed a number of theaters, 7 including drive-ins; in 1965, he was hired by the Dr Pepper 8 Company, and he became the national advertising manager responsible 9 for brand development in theater concessions; he was later employed 10 11 as a brand advertising manager at Jos. Schlitz Brewing Company and 12 as vice president of food service in the Sunkist Beverage Division of General Cinema Corporation in Atlanta; and 13

14 WHEREAS, In 1985, Mr. Berkley bought the Plaza Cinema in Henderson; he operated the theater from afar and also owned an art 15 house cinema in downtown Atlanta; after Sunkist was sold, he formed 16 Foothills Entertainment, acquired the 4 Star Cinema in Kilgore, and 17 partnered in the purchase of General Cinemas venues in Beaumont; 18 today, his holdings include 13 screens at four theaters, namely the 19 Plaza, the 4 Star, the Jackson Cinema in Jacksonville, and the 20 21 Brazos Cinema in Mineral Wells; his independent theaters were among the first to transition to digital screening, and he sponsors 22 23 twice-yearly festivals of independent and foreign films; and

24 WHEREAS, Mr. Berkley has been a member of the executive board

1

H.R. No. 1404

1 of the National Association of Theatre Owners for more than a 2 quarter century; he further serves as the organization's treasurer 3 and as a member of several committees, and he is president of 4 Theatre Owners of Mid-America, a regional association for 5 exhibitors in Arkansas, Kansas, Louisiana, Missouri, Oklahoma, and 6 Texas; and

7 WHEREAS, In an era of seismic change in the entertainment 8 business, Byron Berkley has contributed significantly to the 9 advancement of independent theater exhibition, and he is indeed 10 deserving of this prestigious accolade; now, therefore, be it

11 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 85th Texas 12 Legislature hereby congratulate Byron Berkley on his receipt of the 13 2017 National Association of Theatre Owners Marquee Award and 14 extend to him sincere best wishes for continued success; and, be it 15 further

16 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be 17 prepared for Mr. Berkley as an expression of high regard by the 18 Texas House of Representatives.

Dean

2

H.R. No. 1404

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 1404 was adopted by the House on April 27, 2017, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House