By: Oliverson H.R. No. 1412

RESOLUTION

- 1 WHEREAS, Daikin Industries is celebrating the grand opening
- 2 of its new Daikin Texas Technology Park in Waller on May 24, 2017;
- 3 and
- 4 WHEREAS, An international manufacturer of heating,
- 5 ventilation, and air-conditioning equipment and refrigerants,
- 6 Daikin Industries operates 213 consolidated subsidiaries and 80
- 7 production bases around the world, and it employs more than 11,000
- 8 workers in North and South America; and
- 9 WHEREAS, In 2012, Daikin acquired Goodman Global Group,
- 10 expanding its presence in North America, and in 2015, the company
- 11 broke ground in Waller for its \$400 million technology park; and
- WHEREAS, This 4.1-million-square-foot facility consolidates
- 13 under one roof the engineering, manufacturing, logistics,
- 14 marketing, and sales components of the Daikin, Goodman, and Amana
- 15 brands of unitary heating and air-conditioning products, allowing
- 16 the company to better serve its customers and employees and to
- 17 reduce its impact on the environment; the park includes a
- 18 distribution center and research laboratory in addition to
- 19 manufacturing and office space, and by 2018, the company expects to
- 20 be employing more than 4,000 industry professionals at the site;
- 21 and
- WHEREAS, Enterprises that provide jobs and boost economic
- 23 activity are essential to the prosperity of the Lone Star State, and
- 24 the Daikin Texas Technology Park is an exciting addition to the

H.R. No. 1412

- 1 industrial sector of the greater Houston area; now, therefore, be
- 2 it
- RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 85th Texas
- 4 Legislature hereby commemorate the grand opening of the Daikin
- 5 Texas Technology Park and extend to the management and employees of
- 6 Daikin Industries and their guests sincere best wishes for a
- 7 memorable and meaningful event; and, be it further
- 8 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
- 9 prepared for Daikin Industries as an expression of high regard by
- 10 the Texas House of Representatives.