RESOLUTION

WHEREAS, Ironroot Republic Distilling in Denison earned
great distinction by winning a 2017 World Whisky Award from Whisky
magazine for its Hubris Corn Whiskey; and

WHEREAS, An alcoholic beverage distilled from the fermented mash of barley, corn, rye, or wheat, whiskey has been made for centuries by cultures all around the world; the name originates from the Gaelic term for "water of life," *uisce beatha*, and by long tradition, the Irish and American versions are spelled "whiskey," while liquor distilled in Scotland or other countries is spelled "whisky"; and

11 WHEREAS, Ironroot Republic was founded in Denison in 2014 by 12 two brothers from El Paso, Jonathan and Robert Likarish; the name of 13 the distillery pays tribute to Thomas Volney Munson, a 14 horticulturist in Denison who pioneered a new disease-resistant 15 grape by grafting European grapes to the "iron roots" of the Texas 16 mustang grape; and

The Likarish brothers 17 WHEREAS, practice а local, grain-to-glass philosophy, distilling spirits that celebrate the 18 agriculture, history, and culture of the Lone Star State; in 19 20 addition to whiskey, the company makes brandy, moonshine, gin, and 21 vodka, largely with grains grown within 60 miles of the distillery; 22 and

23 WHEREAS, In addition to the award from *Whisky* magazine, 24 Ironroot Hubris Corn Whiskey also won Double Gold and Best Corn

1

Whiskey at the San Francisco World Spirits Competition; Ironroot's Harbinger Bourbon Whiskey won Gold for Non-Kentucky Bourbon from Whisky magazine and Double Gold at the New York World Wine and Spirits Competition, while its Promethean Bourbon Whiskey took Best in Class Gold at the Whiskies of the World Competition; the company itself was a Texas Rural Challenge winner in 2016, and that same year, it won the Governor's Small Business Award; and

8 WHEREAS, Locally owned and operated enterprises make a 9 welcome contribution to the prosperity and distinct character of 10 their communities, and it is a pleasure to recognize Ironroot 11 Republic Distilling for the reputation for excellence that it has 12 achieved; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 85th Texas Legislature hereby congratulate Ironroot Republic Distilling on winning the World's Best Corn Whiskey Award from *Whisky* magazine and extend to Jonathan and Robert Likarish and their employees sincere best wishes for continued success; and, be it further

18 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be 19 prepared for Ironroot Republic Distilling as an expression of high 20 regard by the Texas House of Representatives.

Phillips

2

Straus Allen Alonzo Alvarado Anchia Anderson of Dallas Anderson of McLennan Arévalo Ashby Bailes Bell Bernal Biedermann Blanco Bohac Bonnen of Brazoria Bonnen of Galveston Burkett Burns Burrows Button Cain Canales Capriglione Clardy Coleman Collier Cook Cortez Cosper Craddick Cyrier Dale Darby Davis of Dallas Davis of Harris Dean Deshotel Dukes Dutton Elkins Faircloth Fallon Farrar Flynn Frank Frullo Geren Gervin-Hawkins Giddings

González of El Paso Gooden Guerra Guillen Gutierrez Hefner Hernandez Herrero Hinojosa Holland Howard Huberty Hunter Isaac Israel Johnson of Dallas Johnson of Harris Kacal Keough King of Hemphill King of Parker King of Uvalde Klick Коор Krause Kuempel Lambert Landgraf Lang Larson Laubenberg Leach Longoria Lozano Lucio III Martinez Metcalf Meyer Miller Minjarez Moody Morrison Muñoz, Jr. Murphy Murr Neave Nevárez Oliveira

Goldman

Oliverson Gonzales of Williamson Ortega Paddie Parker Paul Perez Phelan Phillips Pickett Price Raney Raymond Reynolds Rinaldi Roberts Rodriguez of Bexar Rodriguez of Travis Romero, Jr. Rose Sanford Schaefer Schofield Schubert Shaheen Sheffield Shine Simmons Smithee Springer Stephenson Stickland Stucky Swanson Thierry Thompson of Brazoria Thompson of Harris Tinderholt Turner Uresti VanDeaver Villalba Vo Walle White Wilson Workman Wray Wu Zedler Zerwas

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 1415 was adopted by the House on April 17, 2017, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House