RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, The boys' basketball team of Our Lady of the Hills 2 Regional Catholic High School in Kerrville reached the ultimate 3 level of achievement by winning the Texas Association of Private 4 and Parochial Schools 3A state championship on March 3, 2017, in 5 Abilene; and

6 WHEREAS, After an outstanding regular season in which they 7 went undefeated in district play, the Hawks marched through the 8 playoffs with victories against Bryan Brazos Christian School, 9 Temple Central Texas Christian School, and Beaumont Legacy 10 Christian Academy to advance to the finals against Yavneh Academy 11 of Dallas; and

WHEREAS, In the nail-biter title contest, the Hawks were evenly matched throughout regulation, but they went on to clinch the trophy in double overtime by a final score of 46-39; with the triumph, the squad captured the first team championship in school history and the first for the city of Kerrville since 1970; and

WHEREAS, The Hawks excelled all season long through a true team effort, receiving valuable contributions from each member of the roster: Chandlin Hale, James Westfall, William Westfall, Luke Schultz, Hardy Cai, Travis Reeh, Yiqian Cai, Hunter Taylor, Jack Groff, Triston Schubert, and Jonathan Cummings; these talented athletes benefited from the skillful guidance of head coach Chris Ramirez; and

24 WHEREAS, Winning a state championship represents the

1

1 culmination of countless hours of hard work and an unwavering 2 commitment to excellence, and the Hawks of Our Lady of the Hills 3 High School will treasure the memory of this accomplishment for the 4 rest of their lives; now, therefore, be it

5 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 85th Texas 6 Legislature hereby congratulate the boys' basketball team of Our 7 Lady of the Hills Regional Catholic High School on winning the 8 2016-2017 TAPPS 3A state championship and extend to the squad's 9 players, coaches, and staff sincere best wishes for the future; 10 and, be it further

11 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be 12 prepared for the Hawks as an expression of high regard by the Texas 13 House of Representatives.

Murr

Straus Allen Alonzo Alvarado Anchia Anderson of Dallas Anderson of McLennan Arévalo Ashby Bailes Bell Bernal Biedermann Blanco Bohac Bonnen of Brazoria Bonnen of Galveston Burkett Burns Burrows Button Cain Canales Capriglione Clardy Coleman Collier Cook Cortez Cosper Craddick Cyrier Dale Darby Davis of Dallas Davis of Harris Dean Deshotel Dukes Dutton Elkins Faircloth Fallon Farrar Flynn Frank Frullo Geren Gervin-Hawkins Giddings

Gonzales of Williamson Ortega González of El Paso Gooden Guerra Guillen Gutierrez Hefner Hernandez Herrero Hinojosa Holland Howard Huberty Hunter Isaac Israel Johnson of Dallas Johnson of Harris Kacal Keough King of Hemphill King of Parker King of Uvalde Klick Коор Krause Kuempel Lambert Landgraf Lang Larson Laubenberg Leach Longoria Lozano Lucio III Martinez Metcalf Meyer Miller Minjarez Moody Morrison Muñoz, Jr. Murphy Murr Neave Nevárez Oliveira

Goldman

Oliverson Paddie Parker Paul Perez Phelan Phillips Pickett Price Raney Raymond Reynolds Rinaldi Roberts Rodriguez of Bexar Rodriguez of Travis Romero, Jr. Rose Sanford Schaefer Schofield Schubert Shaheen Sheffield Shine Simmons Smithee Springer Stephenson Stickland Stucky Swanson Thierry Thompson of Brazoria Thompson of Harris Tinderholt Turner Uresti VanDeaver Villalba Vo Walle White Wilson Workman Wray Wu Zedler Zerwas

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 1416 was adopted by the House on April 26, 2017, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House