H.R. No. 1434

RESOLUTION

- 1 WHEREAS, Rebecca Beale of Graham won the second season of the
- 2 Food Network's Kids Baking Championship; and
- 3 WHEREAS, Hosted by Valerie Bertinelli and Duff Goldman, the
- 4 show tested the baking skills of 10 contestants between the ages of
- 5 10 and 13 in a series of challenges spanning eight episodes; and
- 6 WHEREAS, Demonstrating exceptional skill, Rebecca Beale
- 7 advanced through the competition to the final round, where she and
- 8 two other contestants were required to create a cake with at least
- 9 two layers that fit the "Spring Break Cakes" theme; she impressed
- 10 the judges by making a colorful three-tier, 12-layer strawberry and
- 11 lemon cake complete with surfboards, shark fins, and other
- 12 beach-themed decorations; when the votes were tallied, Rebecca was
- 13 named the winner, taking home the \$25,000 prize; and
- 14 WHEREAS, This accomplished young baker not only enjoys
- 15 showing off her talents in the kitchen but also delights in hunting,
- 16 fishing, and competitive cheerleading; moreover, she has served as
- 17 student council president at Graham Junior High School and as a
- 18 member of the Builders Club, a service organization supported by
- 19 Kiwanis International; and
- 20 WHEREAS, Rebecca Beale has brought great pride to her family
- 21 and her hometown by excelling in this demanding competition, and
- 22 her achievement is truly worthy of special recognition; now,
- 23 therefore, be it
- 24 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 85th Texas

H.R. No. 1434

- 1 Legislature hereby congratulate Rebecca Beale on winning the $\it Kids$
- 2 Baking Championship and extend to her sincere best wishes for
- 3 continued success; and, be it further
- 4 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
- 5 prepared for Ms. Beale as an expression of high regard by the Texas
- 6 House of Representatives.

Springer

H.R. No. 1434

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 1434 was adopted by the House on April 27, 2017, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House