H.R. No. 1449

## RESOLUTION

WHEREAS, John Hess of Boy Scouts of America Troop No. 668 in
Gainesville has attained the rank of Eagle Scout, and this
accomplishment truly merits special recognition; and

WHEREAS, Receiving the Eagle Scout badge is a significant honor, bestowed on only a small fraction of those who enter the scouting movement; in the course of meeting the rank's demanding riteria, Mr. Hess earned the requisite 21 merit badges and successfully completed an Eagle Scout project that involved constructing two metal benches for the grotto behind St. Peter's Catholic Church in Lindsay; and

11 WHEREAS, The son of Gary and Margo Hess, this fine young Texan 12 has demonstrated outstanding leadership ability throughout his 13 time as a scout, winning the respect and admiration of his fellow 14 troop members as he worked toward the highest rank that the 15 organization offers; and

16 WHEREAS, A 2016 graduate of Lindsay High School, Mr. Hess 17 spent the summer after high school working to help maintain 18 Philmont, the Boy Scouts of America ranch in northern New Mexico, 19 before returning home to work for the family business, Paul Hess 20 Trucking; he plans to hike the Continental Divide this summer and to 21 eventually pursue a career as a hiking guide; and

WHEREAS, Eagle Scout Hess's dedication to excellence and his perseverance in achieving his goals have proven him worthy to stand among scouting's elite, and he may indeed reflect with pride on a

1

H.R. No. 1449

1 job well done; now, therefore, be it

2 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 85th Texas 3 Legislature hereby congratulate John Hess on attaining the rank of 4 Eagle Scout and extend to him sincere best wishes for continued 5 success and happiness; and, be it further

6 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be 7 prepared for Mr. Hess as an expression of high regard by the Texas 8 House of Representatives.

Springer

H.R. No. 1449

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 1449 was adopted by the House on April 27, 2017, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House