H.R. No. 1467

RESOLUTION

- 1 WHEREAS, The observance of Texas Meningitis Awareness Day on
- 2 April 18, 2017, provides a fitting opportunity to heighten
- 3 awareness of this debilitating illness; and
- WHEREAS, There are two types of meningitis: bacterial and
- 5 viral; bacterial meningitis is a serious, potentially deadly
- 6 disease that can progress very quickly; a person may die in a period
- 7 of only 8 to 24 hours after contracting the infection; and
- 8 WHEREAS, Bacterial meningitis is an inflammation of the
- 9 membranes that surround the brain and spinal cord; each year since
- 10 2012, 10 to 12 percent of individuals infected with the disease have
- 11 died; and
- 12 WHEREAS, The rate of the invasive disease among adolescents
- 13 and young adults is higher than those for most other age groups, and
- 14 several outbreaks have occurred on college campuses since 2009;
- 15 among those who survive meningococcal disease, 20 percent live with
- 16 severe health problems; and
- WHEREAS, Adolescent vaccination reduces direct costs of the
- 18 disease and decreases productivity losses; moreover, vaccination
- 19 saves lives and prevents the health problems and disabilities--such
- 20 as amputation, brain damage, kidney failure, and epilepsy--caused
- 21 by the bacterium; now, therefore, be it
- 22 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 85th Texas
- 23 Legislature hereby recognize April 18, 2017, as Texas Meningitis
- 24 Awareness Day and encourage all Texans to learn more about

H.R. No. 1467

1 vaccination and this deadly disease.

Howard

H.R. No. 1467

Straus Allen Alonzo Alvarado Anchia Anderson of Dallas Anderson of McLennan Arévalo Ashby Bailes Bell Bernal Biedermann Blanco Bohac Bonnen of Brazoria Bonnen of Galveston Burkett Burns Burrows Button Cain Canales Capriglione Clardy Coleman Collier Cook Cortez Cosper Craddick Cyrier Dale Darby Davis of Dallas Davis of Harris Dean Deshotel Dukes Dutton Elkins Faircloth Fallon Farrar Flynn Frank Frullo	Goldman Gonzales of Williamson González of El Paso Gooden Guerra Guillen Gutierrez Hefner Hernandez Herrero Hinojosa Holland Howard Huberty Hunter Isaac Israel Johnson of Dallas Johnson of Harris Kacal Keough King of Hemphill King of Parker King of Uvalde Klick Koop Krause Kuempel Lambert Landgraf Lang Larson Laubenberg Leach Longoria Lozano Lucio III Martinez Metcalf Meyer Miller Minjarez Moody Morrison Muñoz, Jr. Murphy Murr	Paddie Parker Paul Perez Phelan Phillips Pickett Price Raney Raymond Reynolds Rinaldi Roberts Rodriguez of Bexar Rodriguez of Travis Romero, Jr. Rose Sanford Schaefer Schofield Schubert Shaheen Sheffield Shine Simmons Smithee Springer Stephenson Stickland Stucky Swanson Thierry Thompson of Brazoria Thompson of Harris Tinderholt Turner Uresti VanDeaver Villalba Vo Walle White Wilson Workman Wray
Frullo	Murr	Wray
Geren	Neave	Wu
Gervin-Hawkins	Nevárez	Zedler
Giddings	Oliveira	Zerwas

	H.R. NO. 146/
	Speaker of the House
I certify that H.R. No. 1467 was	s adopted by the House on April
18, 2017, by a non-record vote.	
	Chief Clerk of the House