H.R. No. 1470

RESOLUTION

- 1 WHEREAS, Jill Dutton is concluding her tenure as a trustee of
- 2 the Van Independent School District in 2017, and it is indeed
- 3 fitting to honor her for a decade of exemplary service; and
- WHEREAS, Over the course of 10 years on the school board,
- 5 Ms. Dutton has demonstrated exceptional leadership and dedication;
- 6 she has served as secretary, and she has deliberated thoughtfully
- 7 over the many matters before the board, including the selection of a
- 8 new school superintendent; and
- 9 WHEREAS, Ms. Dutton was born in Germany and grew up in the
- 10 White Rock area of Dallas; after graduating from Dallas Christian
- 11 School, she attended Abilene Christian University and went on to
- 12 complete her bachelor's degree in political science at The
- 13 University of Texas--Tyler; and
- WHEREAS, In 1999, Ms. Dutton and her husband, David, moved
- 15 their family to Van because of the school district's reputation for
- 16 excellence; she worked briefly for the district's assistant
- 17 superintendent before joining Mr. Dutton in his construction
- 18 consulting business, CA Partners Incorporated; they are the parents
- 19 of three children, Ryan, Lauren, and D. J., and they have three
- 20 treasured grandchildren as well; and
- 21 WHEREAS, Jill Dutton has been a committed champion of public
- 22 education in Van, and she may reflect with pride on all that she has
- 23 accomplished in behalf of the local school system; now, therefore,
- 24 be it

H.R. No. 1470

- 1 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 85th Texas
- 2 Legislature hereby honor Jill Dutton for her 10 years of service as
- 3 a trustee of the Van Independent School District and extend to her
- 4 sincere best wishes for the future; and, be it further
- 5 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
- 6 prepared for Ms. Dutton as an expression of high regard by the Texas
- 7 House of Representatives.

Flynn

H R	. No.	1470

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 1470 was adopted by the House on April 27, 2017, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House