H.R. No. 1471

RESOLUTION

- 1 WHEREAS, Oscar Ortiz retired as Nueces County commissioner
- 2 for Precinct 3 on December 31, 2016, drawing to a close an exemplary
- 3 tenure of more than two decades; and
- 4 WHEREAS, A graduate of Robstown High School and Corpus
- 5 Christi State University, Mr. Ortiz was first elected to the Nueces
- 6 County Commissioners Court in 1994, and his outstanding efforts in
- 7 addressing the needs of area residents soon garnered him the
- 8 loyalty of voters, who returned him to office in each subsequent
- 9 election; and
- 10 WHEREAS, Over the course of his term, Mr. Ortiz compiled an
- 11 impressive list of accomplishments; he served as chair of the
- 12 Robstown Area Development Commission and the Coastal Bend Council
- 13 of Governments and as a member of the Local Redevelopment
- 14 Authority; moreover, he played an essential role in securing grants
- 15 that provided first-time water service to 10 colonias in Nueces
- 16 County, getting health clinics constructed on the west side of
- 17 Corpus Christi and in Robstown, consolidating the city and county
- 18 health departments, rehabilitating area infrastructure, and
- 19 improving youth facilities and services countywide; and
- 20 WHEREAS, Through his dedicated leadership and commitment to
- 21 good governance, Oscar Ortiz has helped make Nueces County an even
- 22 better place in which to live and work, and he has set a standard of
- 23 excellence to which others may aspire; now, therefore, be it
- 24 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 85th Texas

H.R. No. 1471

- 1 Legislature hereby congratulate Oscar Ortiz on his retirement as
- 2 Nueces County commissioner for Precinct 3 and extend to him sincere
- 3 best wishes for continued happiness and fulfillment; and, be it
- 4 further
- 5 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
- 6 prepared for Mr. Ortiz as an expression of high regard by the Texas
- 7 House of Representatives.

Herrero

H.R. No. 1471

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 1471 was adopted by the House on April 27, 2017, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House