H.R. No. 1479

## RESOLUTION

- 1 WHEREAS, Gabe Hernandez of the Corpus Christi Caller-Times
- 2 was recognized for his outstanding work by the Texas Associated
- 3 Press Managing Editors at the group's convention in Houston on
- 4 March 24-26, 2017; and
- 5 WHEREAS, Every year, TAPME and the Headliners Foundation of
- 6 Texas join together to recognize outstanding journalism from the
- 7 Lone Star State's daily newspapers; the Caller-Times and its staff
- 8 competed in the Class AAA category, for newspapers with a Sunday
- 9 circulation ranging from 30,000 to nearly 125,000; and
- 10 WHEREAS, A staff photographer for the Caller-Times, Gabe
- 11 Hernandez earned first place in the division for videos longer than
- 12 two minutes and third place in the Best Photo Gallery category, and
- 13 he and two of his colleagues placed third for the Star Online
- 14 Package of the Year award; and
- WHEREAS, Mr. Hernandez graduated from New Mexico State
- 16 University in Las Cruces with a degree in journalism, and he has
- 17 worked for the Valley Morning Star in Harlingen and the Monitor in
- 18 McAllen; his images have also appeared in numerous national
- 19 publications, including the online editions of Time magazine and
- 20 USA Today; and
- 21 WHEREAS, Newspapers serve as a vital resource for a
- 22 well-informed citizenry, and through his important work with the
- 23 Caller-Times, Gabe Hernandez is making an invaluable contribution
- 24 to the residents of his community; now, therefore, be it

H.R. No. 1479

RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 85th Texas
Legislature hereby congratulate Gabe Hernandez on his success at
the 2017 Texas Associated Press Managing Editors convention and
extend to him sincere best wishes for the future; and, be it further
RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
prepared for Mr. Hernandez as an expression of high regard by the
Texas House of Representatives.

Herrero Hunter

H.R. No. 1479

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 1479 was adopted by the House on April 27, 2017, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House