RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, Tom Smith is retiring as director of the Texas 2 office of Public Citizen on February 15, 2017, drawing to a close a 3 distinguished tenure with the organization that has spanned 32 4 years; and

5 WHEREAS, A dedicated advocate for the environment, ethics in the public sphere, and campaign finance reform, "Smitty" Smith 6 joined Public Citizen in 1985; over the next three decades, he 7 helped to make Texas a national leader in renewable energy by 8 9 conducting studies, organizing supporters, and assembling coalitions to push for wind and solar power; in addition, he worked 10 11 with state policy makers to develop the Texas Emissions Reduction 12 Plan, which has granted more than \$1 billion for the replacement of diesel engines and has cut more than 160,000 tons of smog-forming 13 14 nitrogen oxides; and

WHEREAS, This esteemed Texan also mobilized citizens to stop 15 16 the construction of proposed coal and nuclear power plants, and he provided crucial support for the state's building energy code, a 17 piece of legislation that has brought about significant reductions 18 in energy use by new homes; moreover, he has played a key role in the 19 20 crafting and passage of major ethics reforms, including the 21 creation of the state's ethics commission; during his exemplary tenure, he has testified before the Texas Legislature and the 22 23 U.S. Congress more than 1,000 times; and

24 WHEREAS, In 2001, Mr. Smith was named "Best People's

1

Lobbyist" by the Austin Chronicle, and the newspaper gave him its Best Lifetime Achievement Award in 2016; his many other accolades include the Environmental Excellence Award from the EPA, the Achievement in Advocacy Award from the American Wind Energy Association, and the prestigious Heinz Award; and

WHEREAS, An Illinois native, Mr. Smith holds a bachelor's 6 7 degree in urban studies from Valparaiso University; he moved to 8 Kingsville in 1974 to become a VISTA volunteer, and he went on to serve as food bank development coordinator for Second Harvest Food 9 Bank, as director of the Houston Food Bank and of the Southwest 10 Regional Office of the Community Nutrition Institute, and as a 11 12 legal assistant with Texas Rural Legal Aid and Prairie State Legal 13 Services; and

WHEREAS, A tremendously inspiring, dynamic leader, Smitty Smith has made an immeasurable impact on the Lone Star State, and in o doing, he has earned the lasting respect and gratitude of his fellow citizens; now, therefore, be it

18 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 85th Texas 19 Legislature hereby congratulate Tom "Smitty" Smith on the occasion 20 of his retirement as director of the Texas office of Public Citizen 21 and extend to him sincere best wishes for the future; and, be it 22 further

RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be prepared for Mr. Smith as an expression of high regard by the Texas House of Representatives.

Rodriguez of Travis

2

Straus Allen Alonzo Alvarado Anchia Anderson of Dallas Anderson of McLennan Arévalo Ashby Bailes Bell Bernal Biedermann Blanco Bohac Bonnen of Brazoria Bonnen of Galveston Burkett Burns Burrows Button Cain Canales Capriglione Clardy Coleman Collier Cook Cortez Cosper Craddick Cyrier Dale Darby Davis of Dallas Davis of Harris Dean Deshotel Dukes Dutton Elkins Faircloth Fallon Farrar Flynn Frank Frullo Geren Gervin-Hawkins Giddings

González of El Paso Gooden Guerra Guillen Gutierrez Hefner Hernandez Herrero Hinojosa Holland Howard Huberty Hunter Isaac Israel Johnson of Dallas Johnson of Harris Kacal Keough King of Hemphill King of Parker King of Uvalde Klick Коор Krause Kuempel Lambert Landgraf Lang Larson Laubenberg Leach Longoria Lozano Lucio III Martinez Metcalf Meyer Miller Minjarez Moody Morrison Muñoz, Jr. Murphy Murr Neave Nevárez Oliveira

Goldman

Oliverson Gonzales of Williamson Ortega Paddie Parker Paul Perez Phelan Phillips Pickett Price Raney Raymond Reynolds Rinaldi Roberts Rodriguez of Bexar Rodriguez of Travis Romero, Jr. Rose Sanford Schaefer Schofield Schubert Shaheen Sheffield Shine Simmons Smithee Springer Stephenson Stickland Stucky Swanson Thierry Thompson of Brazoria Thompson of Harris Tinderholt Turner Uresti VanDeaver Villalba Vo Walle White Wilson Workman Wray Wu Zedler Zerwas

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 1488 was adopted by the House on April 25, 2017, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House