H.R. No. 1492

## RESOLUTION

- 1 WHEREAS, The Texas Sports Hall of Fame recognized the
- 2 exceptional accomplishments of its 2017 inductees at a ceremony on
- 3 February 21 in Waco; and
- WHEREAS, Since inducting its first member in 1951, the Texas
- 5 Sports Hall of Fame has honored the athletic careers of more than
- 6 300 men and women; in 1993, the institution opened a museum in Waco
- 7 to chronicle the lives of these legendary individuals and to
- 8 preserve the history of sports in Texas for present and future
- 9 generations; and
- 10 WHEREAS, The 2017 class of inductees are former Houston
- 11 Cougars NCAA women's volleyball players Rita Buck-Crockett and the
- 12 late Flo Hyman, former Texas A&M and Los Angeles Rams defensive back
- 13 Dave Elmendorf, Texas A&M University track and field coach Pat
- 14 Henry, 2008 Olympic all-around gymnastics champion Nastia Liukin,
- 15 former University of Texas track and football star Eric Metcalf,
- 16 Los Angeles Rams defensive coordinator Wade Phillips, and former
- 17 Dallas Cowboys All-Pro safety Darren Woodson; and
- 18 WHEREAS, Through their outstanding skill and dedication,
- 19 these esteemed Texans have furthered the proud tradition of
- 20 athletic excellence in the Lone Star State, and they are indeed
- 21 deserving of this prestigious honor; now, therefore, be it

H.R. No. 1492

- 1 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 85th Texas
- 2 Legislature hereby recognize the 2017 Texas Sports Hall of Fame
- 3 inductees.

Raymond

H.R. No. 1492

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 1492 was adopted by the House on May 4, 2017, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House