RESOLUTION

WHEREAS, Crane Middle School has enjoyed a significant record
of success in recent years through its many academic and
extracurricular endeavors; and

WHEREAS, The school has excelled in its efforts to prepare young people for the challenges and opportunities of the future; its specialized initiatives include the Gifted and Talented Program, which includes 23 students for the 2016-2017 school year, and the GRIT character education program that recognizes the gualities of growth, resilience, integrity, and tenacity; and

WHEREAS, Crane Middle School has won district titles in the 10 11 University Interscholastic League academic competition for 11 of 12 the past 12 years, and students have also proudly represented CMS in meets sponsored by the Texas Math and Science Coaches Association, 13 14 with about 20 individuals advancing annually to the state level; in addition, the school's band program regularly receives first 15 16 division ratings from judges in UIL contests, and its athletic teams have earned a host of trophies for their performances; and 17

WHEREAS, Setting an outstanding example of community involvement, the CMS student council organized a fund-raiser that garnered more than \$1,500 for juvenile cancer research; moreover, each member of the Crane chapter of the National Junior Honor Society has spent an average of 50 hours per year performing volunteer activities, including working at food pantries and nursing homes and tutoring elementary-aged children; and

1

1 WHEREAS, The students, educators, and staff of Crane Middle 2 School have demonstrated an exceptional commitment to excellence, 3 and they may take justifiable pride in their many achievements; 4 now, therefore, be it

5 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 85th Texas 6 Legislature hereby commend Crane Middle School on its numerous 7 accomplishments and extend to all those associated with the school 8 sincere best wishes for continued success; and, be it further

9 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be 10 prepared for the school as an expression of high regard by the Texas 11 House of Representatives.

Craddick

Straus Allen Alonzo Alvarado Anchia Anderson of Dallas Anderson of McLennan Arévalo Ashby Bailes Bell Bernal Biedermann Blanco Bohac Bonnen of Brazoria Bonnen of Galveston Burkett Burns Burrows Button Cain Canales Capriglione Clardy Coleman Collier Cook Cortez Cosper Craddick Cyrier Dale Darby Davis of Dallas Davis of Harris Dean Deshotel Dukes Dutton Elkins Faircloth Fallon Farrar Flynn Frank Frullo Geren Gervin-Hawkins Giddings

González of El Paso Gooden Guerra Guillen Gutierrez Hefner Hernandez Herrero Hinojosa Holland Howard Huberty Hunter Isaac Israel Johnson of Dallas Johnson of Harris Kacal Keough King of Hemphill King of Parker King of Uvalde Klick Коор Krause Kuempel Lambert Landgraf Lang Larson Laubenberg Leach Longoria Lozano Lucio III Martinez Metcalf Meyer Miller Minjarez Moody Morrison Muñoz, Jr. Murphy Murr Neave Nevárez Oliveira

Goldman

Oliverson Gonzales of Williamson Ortega Paddie Parker Paul Perez Phelan Phillips Pickett Price Raney Raymond Reynolds Rinaldi Roberts Rodriguez of Bexar Rodriguez of Travis Romero, Jr. Rose Sanford Schaefer Schofield Schubert Shaheen Sheffield Shine Simmons Smithee Springer Stephenson Stickland Stucky Swanson Thierry Thompson of Brazoria Thompson of Harris Tinderholt Turner Uresti VanDeaver Villalba Vo Walle White Wilson Workman Wray Wu Zedler Zerwas

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 1512 was adopted by the House on April 25, 2017, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House