H.R. No. 1534

RESOLUTION

- 1 WHEREAS, The symphonic band of Brazoswood High School in
- 2 Clute has received the 2017 Sudler Flag of Honor from the John
- 3 Philip Sousa Foundation; and
- WHEREAS, Sponsored by Louis and Virginia Sudler, this
- 5 prestigious international accolade is bestowed on high school band
- 6 programs that have demonstrated a remarkable standard of excellence
- 7 in concert performance over a period of several years; and
- 8 WHEREAS, The only program in the country chosen to receive
- 9 the flag this year, the Brazoswood symphonic band has long
- 10 distinguished itself in competition, consistently earning
- 11 University Interscholastic League Sweepstakes awards; moreover,
- 12 the ensemble has won National Wind Band Honors twice, and it was
- 13 named the 2012 5A Honor Band by the Texas Music Educators
- 14 Association, which invited the group to perform at its convention
- 15 the following year; and
- 16 WHEREAS, Through their hard work and dedication to
- 17 excellence, these gifted young Texans have proved themselves worthy
- 18 of international recognition, and it is truly a privilege to
- 19 commend them on this notable achievement; now, therefore, be it
- 20 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 85th Texas
- 21 Legislature hereby congratulate the Brazoswood High School
- 22 symphonic band on its receipt of a Sudler Flag of Honor from the
- 23 John Philip Sousa Foundation and extend to all those associated
- 24 with the band sincere best wishes for continued success; and, be it

H.R. No. 1534

- 1 further
- 2 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
- 3 prepared for the band as an expression of high regard by the Texas
- 4 House of Representatives.

Bonnen of Brazoria

H.R. No. 1534

Straus Goldman Oliverson Allen Gonzales of Williamson Ortega González of El Paso Alonzo Paddie Alvarado Gooden Parker Anchia Guerra Paul Anderson of Dallas Guillen Perez Anderson of McLennan Gutierrez Phelan Arévalo Hefner Phillips Ashby Hernandez Pickett Bailes Herrero Price Bell Hinojosa Raney Holland Bernal Raymond Biedermann Howard Reynolds Huberty Rinaldi Blanco Bohac Hunter Roberts Bonnen of Brazoria Isaac Rodriguez of Bexar Rodriquez of Travis Bonnen of Galveston Israel Johnson of Dallas Burkett Romero, Jr. Burns Johnson of Harris Rose Burrows Kacal Sanford Button Keough Schaefer King of Hemphill Schofield Cain Canales King of Parker Schubert Capriglione King of Uvalde Shaheen Sheffield Clardy Klick Коор Shine Coleman Collier Krause Simmons Cook Kuempel Smithee Cortez Lambert Springer Cosper Landgraf Stephenson Craddick Stickland Lang Larson Stucky Cyrier Dale Laubenberg Swanson Darby Thierry Leach Davis of Dallas Longoria Thompson of Brazoria Davis of Harris Thompson of Harris Lozano Lucio III Tinderholt Deshotel Martinez Turner Dukes Metcalf Uresti Dutton Meyer VanDeaver Miller Elkins Villalba Faircloth Minjarez Vo Fallon Walle Moody Farrar Morrison White Wilson Flynn Muñoz, Jr. Frank Murphy Workman Frullo Murr Wray Geren Neave Wıı Zedler Gervin-Hawkins Nevárez

Zerwas

Oliveira

Giddings

	H.R. No. 1534
	Speaker of the House
I certify that H.R. No. 1534 v 2017, by a non-record vote.	was adopted by the House on May 1,
	Chief Clerk of the House