H.R. No. 1536

RESOLUTION

- 1 WHEREAS, Students, faculty, and staff of Texas State
- 2 Technical College are gathering in Austin on May 4, 2017, to
- 3 celebrate Texas State Technical College Day at the State Capitol;
- 4 and
- 5 WHEREAS, Established in 1965, Texas State Technical College
- 6 is a two-year technical training institution focused on advanced
- 7 and emerging technologies; TSTC offers numerous associate degrees
- 8 and certificates across a variety of program areas to assist in
- 9 developing a job-ready workforce, and the college has graduated
- 10 more than 100,000 students; and
- 11 WHEREAS, TSTC boasts 10 campuses across the state, including
- 12 Abilene, Breckenridge, Brownwood, Fort Bend County, Harlingen,
- 13 Marshall, North Texas, Sweetwater, Waco, and Williamson County; in
- 14 recent years, the college has seen an increase in overall
- 15 enrollment, awards conferred, and job placements, and it has
- 16 adopted an accountability-based funding model in which funds
- 17 received by the school are determined by student earnings and
- 18 associated state tax revenues; and
- 19 WHEREAS, Texas State Technical College provides Texans with
- 20 the opportunity to attain leading-edge technical skills and
- 21 knowledge, to the great benefit of the students, their families,
- 22 and the State of Texas, and it is indeed fitting to recognize the
- 23 school for its contributions to the economic advancement of the
- 24 Lone Star State; now, therefore, be it

H.R. No. 1536

- 1 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 85th Texas
- 2 Legislature hereby recognize May 4, 2017, as Texas State Technical
- 3 College Day at the State Capitol and extend to the visiting
- 4 delegation sincere best wishes for an informative and enjoyable
- 5 stay in Austin.

Anderson of McLennan

H.R. No. 1536

Straus Goldman Oliverson Allen Gonzales of Williamson Ortega González of El Paso Alonzo Paddie Alvarado Gooden Parker Anchia Guerra Paul Anderson of Dallas Guillen Perez Anderson of McLennan Gutierrez Phelan Arévalo Hefner Phillips Ashby Hernandez Pickett Bailes Herrero Price Hinojosa Bell Raney Holland Bernal Raymond Biedermann Howard Reynolds Huberty Rinaldi Blanco Bohac Hunter Roberts Bonnen of Brazoria Isaac Rodriguez of Bexar Rodriquez of Travis Bonnen of Galveston Israel Johnson of Dallas Burkett Romero, Jr. Burns Johnson of Harris Rose Burrows Kacal Sanford Button Keough Schaefer King of Hemphill Schofield Cain Canales King of Parker Schubert Capriglione King of Uvalde Shaheen Sheffield Clardy Klick Коор Shine Coleman Collier Krause Simmons Cook Kuempel Smithee Cortez Lambert Springer Cosper Landgraf Stephenson Craddick Stickland Lang Larson Stucky Cyrier Dale Laubenberg Swanson Darby Thierry Leach Davis of Dallas Longoria Thompson of Brazoria Davis of Harris Thompson of Harris Lozano Lucio III Tinderholt Deshotel Martinez Turner Dukes Metcalf Uresti Dutton Meyer VanDeaver Miller Elkins Villalba Faircloth Minjarez Vo Fallon Walle Moody Farrar Morrison White Wilson Flynn Muñoz, Jr. Frank Murphy Workman Frullo Murr Wray Geren Neave Wıı Zedler Gervin-Hawkins Nevárez

Zerwas

Oliveira

Giddings

	H.R. No. 1536
	Speaker of the House
I certify that H.R. No. 1536 was	s adopted by the House on May 4,
2017, by a non-record vote.	
	Chief Clerk of the House