H.R. No. 1537

RESOLUTION

WHEREAS, Byron Colston has rendered an invaluable service to Texas law enforcement personnel by founding Cops 4 Cops TX Police, a nonprofit organization devoted to providing assistance to peace officers and their families in times of need; and

5 WHEREAS, Founded in Sanger in 2014, Cops 4 Cops provides 6 temporary financial assistance to both licensed and civilian 7 employees of law enforcement agencies who have faced a 8 life-changing event; and

9 WHEREAS, This unique organization steps in to help when an 10 officer is severely injured or killed, either on duty or off; it 11 also provides aid when an officer's family faces serious illness or 12 the loss of a home due to fire or flood; moreover, Cops 4 Cops 13 supports the fund-raising efforts of other organizations doing 14 similar work for the benefit of law enforcement personnel; and

15 WHEREAS, In honor of his role in creating this worthwhile 16 organization, Byron Colston was named 2016 Citizen of the Year by 17 the Sanger Area Chamber of Commerce; and

WHEREAS, Texans owe a profound debt of gratitude to the men and women who put themselves at risk every day to preserve the safety of our communities, and the tireless work of Cops 4 Cops TX Police in their behalf is truly deserving of special recognition; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 85th Texas
Legislature hereby commend Byron Colston for founding Cops 4 Cops

1

H.R. No. 1537 1 TX Police and extend to him sincere best wishes for continued 2 success in his important work; and, be it further

3 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be 4 prepared for Mr. Colston as an expression of high regard by the 5 Texas House of Representatives.

Fallon

H.R. No. 1537

Straus Allen Alonzo Alvarado Anchia Anderson of Dallas Anderson of McLennan Arévalo Ashby Bailes Bell Bernal Biedermann Blanco Bohac Bonnen of Brazoria Bonnen of Galveston Burkett Burns Burrows Button Cain Canales Capriglione Clardy Coleman Collier Cook Cortez Cosper Craddick Cyrier Dale Darby Davis of Dallas Davis of Harris Dean Deshotel Dukes Dutton Elkins Faircloth Fallon Farrar Flynn Frank Frullo Geren Gervin-Hawkins Giddings

González of El Paso Gooden Guerra Guillen Gutierrez Hefner Hernandez Herrero Hinojosa Holland Howard Huberty Hunter Isaac Israel Johnson of Dallas Johnson of Harris Kacal Keough King of Hemphill King of Parker King of Uvalde Klick Коор Krause Kuempel Lambert Landgraf Lang Larson Laubenberg Leach Longoria Lozano Lucio III Martinez Metcalf Meyer Miller Minjarez Moody Morrison Muñoz, Jr. Murphy Murr Neave Nevárez Oliveira

Goldman

Oliverson Gonzales of Williamson Ortega Paddie Parker Paul Perez Phelan Phillips Pickett Price Raney Raymond Reynolds Rinaldi Roberts Rodriguez of Bexar Rodriguez of Travis Romero, Jr. Rose Sanford Schaefer Schofield Schubert Shaheen Sheffield Shine Simmons Smithee Springer Stephenson Stickland Stucky Swanson Thierry Thompson of Brazoria Thompson of Harris Tinderholt Turner Uresti VanDeaver Villalba Vo Walle White Wilson Workman Wray Wu Zedler Zerwas

H.R. No. 1537

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 1537 was adopted by the House on April 26, 2017, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House