H.R. No. 1546

RESOLUTION

WHEREAS, The Texas Association of Student Financial Aid
Administrators is celebrating its 50th anniversary in 2017; and

3 WHEREAS, TASFAA was founded in 1967 to advance a profession 4 dedicated to providing students with the resources and information 5 necessary to access higher education opportunities; membership has 6 grown to more than 2,000 Texans and also includes individuals in 7 several other states; and

8 WHEREAS, Among the initiatives TASFAA has created to increase 9 awareness of student financial aid options and financing programs 10 are Financial Aid Awareness Week, the Middle School Project, and 11 high school counselor training activities; in addition, the 12 association assists in completing the Free Application for Federal 13 Student Aid; and

WHEREAS, Over the years, TASFAA has also coordinated with other entities committed to helping students pursue their dreams; in the late 1990s, it worked with Representative Henry Cuellar and with other groups to establish the Toward Excellence, Access, and Success Grant Program, or TEXAS, the first statewide, need-based grant program for students attending Texas public postsecondary institutions; and

21 WHEREAS, The organization engages in advocacy at the state 22 and federal levels, proposing refinements to current aid programs 23 and suggesting other measures to improve the affordability of 24 postsecondary education; moreover, it promotes administrative

1

H.R. No. 15461 efficiency, program integrity and quality, and the simplification2 of applications, disbursements, and collections; and

3 WHEREAS, Through its efforts to make postsecondary education 4 more accessible and affordable, the Texas Association of Student 5 Financial Aid Administrators is making a positive difference in the 6 lives of countless Texans and strengthening the workforce that is 7 key to the prosperity of the Lone Star State; now, therefore, be it

8 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 85th Texas 9 Legislature hereby congratulate the Texas Association of Student 10 Financial Aid Administrators on its 50th anniversary and extend to 11 its members sincere best wishes for continued success in their 12 vital endeavors; and, be it further

13 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be 14 prepared for the organization as an expression of high regard by the 15 Texas House of Representatives.

Howard

2

H.R. No. 1546

Straus Allen Alonzo Alvarado Anchia Anderson of Dallas Anderson of McLennan Arévalo Ashby Bailes Bell Bernal Biedermann Blanco Bohac Bonnen of Brazoria Bonnen of Galveston Burkett Burns Burrows Button Cain Canales Capriglione Clardy Coleman Collier Cook Cortez Cosper Craddick Cyrier Dale Darby Davis of Dallas Davis of Harris Dean Deshotel Dukes Dutton Elkins Faircloth Fallon Farrar Flynn Frank Frullo Geren Gervin-Hawkins Giddings

Gonzales of Williamson Ortega González of El Paso Gooden Guerra Guillen Gutierrez Hefner Hernandez Herrero Hinojosa Holland Howard Huberty Hunter Isaac Israel Johnson of Dallas Johnson of Harris Kacal Keough King of Hemphill King of Parker King of Uvalde Klick Коор Krause Kuempel Lambert Landgraf Lang Larson Laubenberg Leach Longoria Lozano Lucio III Martinez Metcalf Meyer Miller Minjarez Moody Morrison Muñoz, Jr. Murphy Murr Neave Nevárez Oliveira

Goldman

Oliverson Paddie Parker Paul Perez Phelan Phillips Pickett Price Raney Raymond Reynolds Rinaldi Roberts Rodriguez of Bexar Rodriguez of Travis Romero, Jr. Rose Sanford Schaefer Schofield Schubert Shaheen Sheffield Shine Simmons Smithee Springer Stephenson Stickland Stucky Swanson Thierry Thompson of Brazoria Thompson of Harris Tinderholt Turner Uresti VanDeaver Villalba Vo Walle White Wilson Workman Wray Wu Zedler Zerwas

H.R. No. 1546

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 1546 was adopted by the House on April 27, 2017, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House