RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, On July 18, 2017, the Texas Army National Guard is 2 celebrating the 100th anniversary of its historic 36th Infantry 3 Division; and

WHEREAS, Organized at Camp Bowie in 1917, the 36th was 4 5 originally made up of soldiers from Texas and Oklahoma, and the division's shoulder patch reflected that composition with a flint 6 7 arrowhead representing Oklahoma and a capital letter T for Texas; the division sailed for Europe in July 1918 and played a significant 8 9 role in the Meuse-Argonne Offensive, which was fought from September 26 until the armistice of November 11, 1918, and which has 10 been called the greatest American battle of World War I; over the 11 12 course of its service in the Great War, the 36th lost 466 men killed, while another 2,118 were wounded; and 13

14 WHEREAS, After being deactivated in June 1919, the 36th was reactivated in November 1940 as a purely Texas division; during 15 World War II, the members of the 36th were involved in the Allied 16 landing near Salerno, southern Italy, in September 1943, and during 17 the grueling Italian campaign, they fought at San Pietro, Cassino, 18 and Anzio and helped to liberate Rome; in August 1944, the division 19 landed on the Mediterranean coast of France as part of Operation 20 21 Dragoon, and it subsequently fought its way up through eastern France, across southern Germany, and into Austria; in the waning 22 23 days of the war in Europe, its troops captured a number of 24 high-ranking Nazi officials and officers, including Hermann

- 1 Göering and Field Marshal Gerd von Rundstedt; altogether, the
- 2 division saw 400 days of combat in World War II and suffered more
- 3 than 3,100 men killed, as well as some 13,200 wounded, 500 missing
- 4 in action, and 2,600 captured; among the awards garnered by
- 5 elements and personnel of the division were 12 Presidential Unit
- 6 Citations, 14 Medals of Honor, and 80 Distinguished Service
- 7 Crosses; and
- 8 WHEREAS, During the Global War on Terror, units of the 36th
- 9 served several deployments in Iraq between 2005 and 2010, securing
- 10 logistics convoys and routes, providing aviation support,
- 11 conducting detainee operations, and providing command and control
- 12 for U.S. forces during the Iraq drawdown; since the beginning of
- 13 2016, two task forces of the 36th have been mobilized in support of
- 14 the NATO-led mission in Afghanistan, where they have provided
- 15 command and control for the Train, Advise and Assist
- 16 Command--South; they are the first National Guard units to assume
- 17 responsibility for a regional command in Afghanistan in a combat
- 18 environment; and
- 19 WHEREAS, Answering their nation's call to duty during three
- 20 distinct times of conflict, the courageous Texans of the 36th
- 21 Infantry Division have met every challenge put before them and
- 22 consistently embodied the highest ideals of this country's armed
- 23 forces; now, therefore, be it
- 24 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 85th Texas
- 25 Legislature hereby commemorate the centennial of the 36th Infantry
- 26 Division of the Texas Army National Guard and extend to its men and
- 27 women heartfelt gratitude for their service and sincere best wishes

- 1 for the future; and, be it further
- 2 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
- 3 prepared for the 36th Infantry Division as an expression of high
- 4 regard by the Texas House of Representatives.

Howard

Straus Allen Alonzo Alvarado Anchia Anderson of Dallas Anderson of McLennan Arévalo Ashby Bailes Bell Bernal Biedermann Blanco Bohac Bonnen of Brazoria Bonnen of Galveston Burkett Burns Burrows Button Cain Canales Capriglione Clardy Coleman Collier Cook Cortez Cosper Craddick Cyrier Dale Darby Davis of Dallas Davis of Harris Dean Deshotel Dukes Dutton Elkins Faircloth Fallon Farrar Flynn Frank Frullo	Goldman Gonzales of Williamson González of El Paso Gooden Guerra Guillen Gutierrez Hefner Hernandez Herrero Hinojosa Holland Howard Huberty Hunter Isaac Israel Johnson of Dallas Johnson of Harris Kacal Keough King of Hemphill King of Parker King of Uvalde Klick Koop Krause Kuempel Lambert Landgraf Lang Larson Laubenberg Leach Longoria Lozano Lucio III Martinez Metcalf Meyer Miller Minjarez Moody Morrison Muñoz, Jr. Murphy Murr	Oliverson Ortega Paddie Parker Paul Perez Phelan Phillips Pickett Price Raney Raymond Reynolds Rinaldi Roberts Rodriguez of Bexar Rodriguez of Travis Romero, Jr. Rose Sanford Schaefer Schofield Schubert Shaheen Sheffield Shine Simmons Smithee Springer Stephenson Stickland Stucky Swanson Thierry Thompson of Brazoria Thompson of Harris Tinderholt Turner Uresti VanDeaver Villalba Vo Walle White Wilson Workman Wray
Frank	Murphy	Workman
Frullo	Murr	Wray
Geren	Neave	Wu
Gervin-Hawkins	Nevárez	Zedler
Giddings	Oliveira	Zerwas

	H.R. No. 1547
	Speaker of the House
I certify that H.R. No. 1547 2017, by a non-record vote.	was adopted by the House on May 4,
	Chief Clerk of the House