RESOLUTION

WHEREAS, The members of the Brownwood Evangelism Center are celebrating the 70th anniversary of their church's founding in 2018; and

WHEREAS, Initially known as the United Pentecostal Church in Jesus Name, this venerable house of worship was founded in October 1948 by the Reverend Jesse Price; the original members, a small group of about 20 faithful, met in an army barracks building that

9 Street; though the church has remained at the same location for the

had been moved from Camp Bowie to the corner of Avenue D and 14th

10 better part of a century, it has undergone significant growth and

11 currently serves a community of more than 200 congregants; and

12 WHEREAS, Over the course of seven decades of affiliation with

the United Pentecostal Church, the Brownwood Evangelism Center has

14 benefited from the dedicated efforts of 10 outstanding ministers,

15 including Pastor Kenneth J. Colegrove, who has led the congregation

16 for more than 17 years; and

8

13

WHEREAS, United by their shared faith and strong traditions,

18 the church's members have established a variety of commendable

19 programs that foster fellowship and offer help to those in need; and

20 WHEREAS, Countless area residents have looked to the

21 Brownwood Evangelism Center for spiritual guidance over the years,

22 and it is a pleasure to join in honoring the church at this special

23 time in its rich history; now, therefore, be it

24 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 85th Texas

H.R. No. 1548

- 1 Legislature hereby commemorate the 70th anniversary of the
- 2 Brownwood Evangelism Center and extend to its members sincere best
- 3 wishes for the future; and, be it further
- 4 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
- 5 prepared for the church as an expression of high regard by the Texas
- 6 House of Representatives.

Lang

H.R. No. 1548

Straus Goldman Oliverson Allen Gonzales of Williamson Ortega González of El Paso Alonzo Paddie Alvarado Gooden Parker Anchia Guerra Paul Anderson of Dallas Guillen Perez Anderson of McLennan Gutierrez Phelan Arévalo Hefner Phillips Ashby Hernandez Pickett Bailes Herrero Price Bell Hinojosa Raney Holland Bernal Raymond Biedermann Howard Reynolds Huberty Rinaldi Blanco Bohac Hunter Roberts Bonnen of Brazoria Isaac Rodriguez of Bexar Rodriquez of Travis Bonnen of Galveston Israel Johnson of Dallas Burkett Romero, Jr. Burns Johnson of Harris Rose Burrows Kacal Sanford Button Keough Schaefer King of Hemphill Schofield Cain Canales King of Parker Schubert Capriglione King of Uvalde Shaheen Sheffield Clardy Klick Коор Shine Coleman Collier Krause Simmons Cook Kuempel Smithee Cortez Lambert Springer Cosper Landgraf Stephenson Craddick Stickland Lang Larson Stucky Cyrier Dale Laubenberg Swanson Darby Thierry Leach Davis of Dallas Longoria Thompson of Brazoria Davis of Harris Thompson of Harris Lozano Lucio III Tinderholt Deshotel Martinez Turner Dukes Metcalf Uresti Dutton Meyer VanDeaver Miller Elkins Villalba Faircloth Minjarez Vo Fallon Walle Moody Farrar Morrison White Wilson Flynn Muñoz, Jr. Frank Murphy Workman Frullo Murr Wray Geren Neave Wıı Zedler Gervin-Hawkins Nevárez

Zerwas

Oliveira

Giddings

	H.R. No. 1548
	Speaker of the House
I certify that H.R. No. 1548 wa 24, 2017, by a non-record vote.	s adopted by the House on April
	Chief Clerk of the House