H.R. No. 1552

## RESOLUTION

- 1 WHEREAS, On May 13, 2017, residents of the Houston area are
- 2 joining with people around the globe in celebration of World Falun
- 3 Dafa Day; and
- WHEREAS, Falun Dafa, also known as Falun Gong, is a system of
- 5 exercise and teachings rooted in ancient Chinese culture that seeks
- 6 to refine the body and transform the spirit; consisting of gentle
- 7 movements and meditation, the practice is based on the tenets of
- 8 truthfulness, compassion, and forbearance; and
- 9 WHEREAS, First introduced to the public in 1992 by its
- 10 founder, Li Hongzhi, Falun Dafa has since transcended cultural
- 11 boundaries to touch the lives of followers in more than 80
- 12 countries; today, practitioners across the Lone Star State host
- 13 free introductory workshops in a variety of public places as well as
- 14 participate in numerous other community events; and
- WHEREAS, Every year, supporters from all walks of life gather
- 16 together for World Falun Dafa Day, celebrating the beauty of Falun
- 17 Dafa, the spirit of its principles, and the efforts of
- 18 practitioners fighting for their human rights in response to
- 19 persecution from the Chinese Communist Party; and
- 20 WHEREAS, Falun Dafa has long helped countless Texans to lead
- 21 healthier, less stressful lives by working to improve their health,
- 22 purify their mind, and uplift their spirit; now, therefore, be it
- 23 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 85th Texas
- 24 Legislature hereby recognize May 13, 2017, as World Falun Dafa Day

H.R. No. 1552

- 1 and extend to all practitioners sincere best wishes for a
- 2 meaningful observance.

Vo

## H.R. No. 1552

Straus Goldman Oliverson Allen Gonzales of Williamson Ortega González of El Paso Alonzo Paddie Alvarado Gooden Parker Anchia Guerra Paul Anderson of Dallas Guillen Perez Anderson of McLennan Gutierrez Phelan Arévalo Hefner Phillips Ashby Hernandez Pickett Bailes Herrero Price Bell Hinojosa Raney Holland Bernal Raymond Biedermann Howard Reynolds Huberty Rinaldi Blanco Bohac Hunter Roberts Bonnen of Brazoria Isaac Rodriguez of Bexar Rodriquez of Travis Bonnen of Galveston Israel Johnson of Dallas Burkett Romero, Jr. Burns Johnson of Harris Rose Burrows Kacal Sanford Button Keough Schaefer King of Hemphill Schofield Cain Canales King of Parker Schubert Capriglione King of Uvalde Shaheen Sheffield Clardy Klick Коор Shine Coleman Collier Krause Simmons Cook Kuempel Smithee Cortez Lambert Springer Cosper Landgraf Stephenson Craddick Stickland Lang Larson Stucky Cyrier Dale Laubenberg Swanson Darby Thierry Leach Davis of Dallas Longoria Thompson of Brazoria Davis of Harris Thompson of Harris Lozano Lucio III Tinderholt Deshotel Martinez Turner Dukes Metcalf Uresti Dutton Meyer VanDeaver Miller Elkins Villalba Faircloth Minjarez Vo Fallon Walle Moody Farrar Morrison White Wilson Flynn Muñoz, Jr. Frank Murphy Workman Frullo Murr Wray Geren Neave Wıı Zedler Gervin-Hawkins Nevárez

Zerwas

Oliveira

Giddings

											п.к.	NO.	1552
		Speaker									of the House		
	I cer	tify	that	H.R.	No.	1552	was	adopted	by	the	House	on	April
25,	2017, b <u>y</u>	y a no	n-rec	ord v	ote.								

Chief Clerk of the House