H.R. No. 1553

RESOLUTION

WHEREAS, Proud residents of Dripping Springs are celebrating
the town's 30th annual Founders Day Festival from April 21 to 23,
2017; and

WHEREAS, Founders Day honors three families 4 from 5 Mississippi, those of Dr. Joseph and Sarah Pound, John and Indiana Moss, and John and Malvina Wallace, who made this area their home in 6 7 1854; early residents of the community initially engaged in subsistence farming, but by 1884 agriculture had expanded and 8 9 Dripping Springs had acquired a steam gristmill and a cotton gin; the wool and mohair industry subsequently played an important role 10 11 in the local economy and continued to do so into the 1970s; and

WHEREAS, Incorporated in August 1981, Dripping Springs is today a popular tourist destination, noted especially for its breweries, wineries, and distilleries; the community also hosts more than 1,000 weddings each year, and in 2015, the 84th Texas Legislature officially declared Dripping Springs the Wedding Capital of Texas; and

WHEREAS, Hosted by the City of Dripping Springs and the Founders Day Commission, the Founders Day celebration features a parade, a carnival, musical performances, street dances, arts and crafts displays, and cook-off competitions; proceeds directly benefit local churches, school and park programs, youth groups, and charities; and

24

WHEREAS, Delighting both residents and visitors alike, this

1

H.R. No. 1553

1 highly anticipated event is the product of countless volunteer 2 hours and a robust community spirit, and it is a pleasure to join in 3 paying tribute to the rich heritage that it celebrates; now, 4 therefore, be it

5 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 85th Texas 6 Legislature hereby commemorate the 30th annual Founders Day 7 Festival in Dripping Springs and extend to its organizers, 8 volunteers, performers, and guests sincere best wishes for an 9 exciting and memorable event.

Isaac

H.R. No. 1553

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 1553 was adopted by the House on May 4, 2017, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House