H.R. No. 1590

## RESOLUTION

WHEREAS, Residents across the Lone Star State are celebrating
 Texas Law Enforcement Torch Run Day on May 2, 2017; and

3 WHEREAS, Since 1985, this biennial event has provided 4 invaluable support to the nonprofit Special Olympics Texas, serving 5 as the organization's largest grassroots fund-raiser and public 6 awareness campaign; and

WHEREAS, Members of the Torch Run assist with a variety of 7 fund-raising activities throughout the year, participating in the 8 9 Donation During Vehicle Registration program, selling merchandise, pledging support for torch runners, and taking part in such 10 11 community events as Polar Plunges, fire truck pulls, and 5K runs; 12 over the past decade, their efforts have helped collect millions of dollars in behalf of Special Olympics Texas, giving more than 13 14 58,000 children and adults with intellectual disabilities the opportunity to join in year-round sports training and competition; 15 16 and

WHEREAS, In 2017, hundreds of local, state, county, and federal law enforcement officers and other first responders will carry the Flame of Hope through the streets of their communities and deliver it to the Special Olympics Texas Summer Games, and it is indeed a pleasure to commemorate this special occasion; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 85th Texas
 Legislature hereby recognize May 2, 2017, as Texas Law Enforcement

1

H.R. No. 1590
1 Torch Run Day and extend to all those participating sincere best
2 wishes for a meaningful and memorable event; and, be it further
3 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
4 prepared for Special Olympics Texas as an expression of high regard
5 by the Texas House of Representatives.

Davis of Dallas

H.R. No. 1590

Straus Allen Alonzo Alvarado Anchia Anderson of Dallas Anderson of McLennan Arévalo Ashby Bailes Bell Bernal Biedermann Blanco Bohac Bonnen of Brazoria Bonnen of Galveston Burkett Burns Burrows Button Cain Canales Capriglione Clardy Coleman Collier Cook Cortez Cosper Craddick Cyrier Dale Darby Davis of Dallas Davis of Harris Dean Deshotel Dukes Dutton Elkins Faircloth Fallon Farrar Flynn Frank Frullo Geren Gervin-Hawkins Giddings

González of El Paso Gooden Guerra Guillen Gutierrez Hefner Hernandez Herrero Hinojosa Holland Howard Huberty Hunter Isaac Israel Johnson of Dallas Johnson of Harris Kacal Keough King of Hemphill King of Parker King of Uvalde Klick Коор Krause Kuempel Lambert Landgraf Lang Larson Laubenberg Leach Longoria Lozano Lucio III Martinez Metcalf Meyer Miller Minjarez Moody Morrison Muñoz, Jr. Murphy Murr Neave Nevárez Oliveira

Goldman

Oliverson Gonzales of Williamson Ortega Paddie Parker Paul Perez Phelan Phillips Pickett Price Raney Raymond Reynolds Rinaldi Roberts Rodriguez of Bexar Rodriguez of Travis Romero, Jr. Rose Sanford Schaefer Schofield Schubert Shaheen Sheffield Shine Simmons Smithee Springer Stephenson Stickland Stucky Swanson Thierry Thompson of Brazoria Thompson of Harris Tinderholt Turner Uresti VanDeaver Villalba Vo Walle White Wilson Workman Wray Wu Zedler Zerwas

H.R. No. 1590

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 1590 was adopted by the House on April 26, 2017, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House