H.R. No. 1614

## RESOLUTION

- 1 WHEREAS, The Texas House of Representatives is joining with
- 2 the Texas Association of Counties in recognizing May 3, 2017, as
- 3 County Government Day at the State Capitol; and
- WHEREAS, This event complements the April 2017 observance of
- 5 National County Government Month, which is sponsored by the
- 6 National Association of Counties and which provides citizens with
- 7 an opportunity to learn more about county government; and
- 8 WHEREAS, The oldest form of local government in the United
- 9 States, county government addresses many critical issues,
- 10 including environmental protection, health care, special
- 11 assistance for the elderly, job training, and public safety; and
- WHEREAS, Texas is divided into 254 counties, the most of any
- 13 state in the country; the dedicated officials and employees of
- 14 these jurisdictions not only work diligently to meet the needs of
- 15 residents without placing an undue burden on taxpayers but also
- 16 strive to find solutions to problems that affect people across the
- 17 Lone Star State, and they truly merit commendation for their
- 18 countless contributions in behalf of their fellow citizens; now,
- 19 therefore, be it
- 20 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 85th Texas
- 21 Legislature hereby recognize May 3, 2017, as County Government Day
- 22 at the State Capitol; and, be it further
- 23 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
- 24 prepared for the Texas Association of Counties as an expression of

H.R. No. 1614

1 high regard by the Texas House of Representatives.

Coleman

## H.R. No. 1614

Straus Goldman Oliverson Allen Gonzales of Williamson Ortega González of El Paso Alonzo Paddie Alvarado Gooden Parker Anchia Guerra Paul Anderson of Dallas Guillen Perez Anderson of McLennan Gutierrez Phelan Arévalo Hefner Phillips Ashby Hernandez Pickett Bailes Herrero Price Hinojosa Bell Raney Holland Bernal Raymond Biedermann Howard Reynolds Huberty Rinaldi Blanco Bohac Hunter Roberts Bonnen of Brazoria Isaac Rodriguez of Bexar Bonnen of Galveston Israel Rodriguez of Travis Johnson of Dallas Burkett Romero, Jr. Burns Johnson of Harris Rose Burrows Kacal Sanford Button Keough Schaefer King of Hemphill Schofield Cain Canales King of Parker Schubert Capriglione King of Uvalde Shaheen Sheffield Clardy Klick Коор Shine Coleman Collier Krause Simmons Cook Kuempel Smithee Cortez Lambert Springer Cosper Landgraf Stephenson Craddick Stickland Lang Larson Stucky Cyrier Dale Laubenberg Swanson Darby Thierry Leach Davis of Dallas Longoria Thompson of Brazoria Davis of Harris Thompson of Harris Lozano Lucio III Tinderholt Deshotel Martinez Turner Dukes Metcalf Uresti Dutton Meyer VanDeaver Miller Elkins Villalba Faircloth Minjarez Vo Fallon Walle Moody Farrar Morrison White Wilson Flynn Muñoz, Jr. Frank Murphy Workman Frullo Murr Wray Geren Neave Wıı Zedler Gervin-Hawkins Nevárez

Zerwas

Oliveira

Giddings

	H.R. No. 1614
	Speaker of the House
I certify that H.R. No. 1614 2017, by a non-record vote.	was adopted by the House on May 3,
	Chief Clerk of the House