H.R. No. 1629

RESOLUTION

- 1 WHEREAS, The Friends of Westbury High School Foundation is
- 2 holding its annual Evening with Westbury Stars gala at the BraeBurn
- 3 Country Club in Houston on April 29, 2017; and
- WHEREAS, Established in 1992, the organization is an
- 5 all-volunteer coalition of Westbury High School alumni and area
- 6 citizens; the group's members contribute to the school by
- 7 participating in mentoring programs, serving on school committees,
- 8 and supporting campus landscaping and other improvement projects;
- 9 the organization also provides grants to faculty members for
- 10 seminars, workshops, and other enrichment programs, and it has
- 11 awarded more than \$200,000 in scholarships to deserving Westbury
- 12 students over the past two decades; and
- WHEREAS, The foundation's Evening with Westbury Stars gala
- 14 features a banquet and silent auction fund-raiser, and the event
- 15 also offers an opportunity to formally honor distinguished alumni,
- 16 faculty, and community members as well as the Westbury seniors who
- 17 are being presented with scholarships; and
- 18 WHEREAS, The education of young Texans is of great importance
- 19 to the future of our state, and the members of the Friends of
- 20 Westbury High School Foundation are helping the school's students
- 21 to reach their full potential and to become engaged and productive
- 22 members of their community; now, therefore, be it
- 23 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 85th Texas
- 24 Legislature hereby honor the Friends of Westbury High School

H.R. No. 1629

- 1 Foundation on the occasion of its annual gala and fund-raiser and
- 2 extend to all those in attendance sincere best wishes for an
- 3 enjoyable and memorable event; and, be it further
- 4 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
- 5 prepared for the foundation as an expression of high regard by the
- 6 Texas House of Representatives.

Thierry

H.R. No. 1629

Straus Goldman Oliverson Allen Gonzales of Williamson Ortega González of El Paso Alonzo Paddie Alvarado Gooden Parker Anchia Guerra Paul Anderson of Dallas Guillen Perez Anderson of McLennan Gutierrez Phelan Arévalo Hefner Phillips Ashby Hernandez Pickett Bailes Herrero Price Hinojosa Bell Raney Holland Bernal Raymond Biedermann Howard Reynolds Huberty Rinaldi Blanco Bohac Hunter Roberts Bonnen of Brazoria Isaac Rodriguez of Bexar Bonnen of Galveston Israel Rodriguez of Travis Johnson of Dallas Burkett Romero, Jr. Burns Johnson of Harris Rose Burrows Kacal Sanford Button Keough Schaefer King of Hemphill Schofield Cain Canales King of Parker Schubert Capriglione King of Uvalde Shaheen Sheffield Clardy Klick Коор Shine Coleman Collier Krause Simmons Cook Kuempel Smithee Cortez Lambert Springer Cosper Landgraf Stephenson Craddick Stickland Lang Larson Stucky Cyrier Dale Laubenberg Swanson Darby Thierry Leach Davis of Dallas Longoria Thompson of Brazoria Davis of Harris Thompson of Harris Lozano Lucio III Tinderholt Deshotel Martinez Turner Dukes Metcalf Uresti Dutton Meyer VanDeaver Miller Elkins Villalba Faircloth Minjarez Vo Fallon Walle Moody Farrar Morrison White Wilson Flynn Muñoz, Jr. Frank Murphy Workman Frullo Murr Wray Geren Neave Wıı Zedler Gervin-Hawkins Nevárez

Zerwas

Oliveira

Giddings

	H.R. No. 1629
	Speaker of the House
I certify that H.R. No. 1629 was	adopted by the House on April
2017, by a non-record vote.	
-	
	Chief Clerk of the House

27,