H.R. No. 1632

## RESOLUTION

WHEREAS, The members of Cottonwood Creek Church are
celebrating the 135th anniversary of their church's founding on May
7, 2017; and

WHEREAS, Cottonwood Creek Church traces its origins back to 4 5 1882, when a small group of residents formed Mount Olive Baptist Church in McKinney; over the succeeding years, the congregation 6 7 grew into one of the largest in the Collin Baptist Association, and by 1921, it included 149 members; the church relocated to Fairview 8 9 in 1959 and later changed its name to First Baptist Church of Fairview; several decades later, the church moved again, this time 10 11 to land off Highway 121 in Allen, where the newly renamed Cottonwood 12 Creek Church opened its doors on August 18, 2002; and

WHEREAS, After more than a century of growth, this venerable institution currently serves three locations in North Texas, and congregants are ably led by Senior Pastor John Mark Caton at the Allen campus, Pastor Danny Broughton at the Denison campus, and Pastor Terry Busker at the Nevada campus; and

18 WHEREAS, United by their shared faith and strong traditions, 19 the members of Cottonwood Creek Church have established a variety 20 of commendable programs that foster fellowship and offer help to 21 those in need; and

22 WHEREAS, Countless North Texans have looked to Cottonwood 23 Creek Church for spiritual guidance over the years, and it is a 24 pleasure to join in honoring the church at this special time in its

1

H.R. No. 1632

1 rich history; now, therefore, be it

2 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 85th Texas 3 Legislature hereby commemorate the 135th anniversary of Cottonwood 4 Creek Church and extend to its members sincere best wishes for the 5 future; and, be it further

6 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be 7 prepared for the church as an expression of high regard by the Texas 8 House of Representatives.

Sanford

H.R. No. 1632

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 1632 was adopted by the House on May 4, 2017, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House