H.R. No. 1649

## RESOLUTION

- 1 WHEREAS, Sharon Butterworth of El Paso is receiving the Texas
- 2 Impact Award from Mental Health America of Texas at the group's
- 3 annual dinner in Austin on May 5, 2017; and
- 4 WHEREAS, A native of El Paso and a retired management
- 5 professional, Ms. Butterworth has devoted much of her time, energy,
- 6 and expertise over the years to advocating for improved access to
- 7 mental health care in the Lone Star State; and
- 8 WHEREAS, This dynamic woman is currently chair-elect of the
- 9 Paso del Norte Health Foundation and chair of the El Paso Behavioral
- 10 Health Consortium, and she has served as chair of the Texas
- 11 Department of Aging and Disability Services board; she was
- 12 appointed by Governor George Bush to the board of the Texas
- 13 Department of Mental Health and Mental Retardation, where she was
- 14 vice chair, and by Governor Rick Perry to the Texas Health and Human
- 15 Services Council; and
- 16 WHEREAS, Ms. Butterworth has also held membership on the
- 17 boards of the Meadows Mental Health Policy Institute, the Brain
- 18 Trust, the Southwestern Children's Home Trust, and the J. Edward
- 19 and Helen M. C. Stern Foundation; she is a former chair of the El
- 20 Paso County United Way board and a past president of the Junior
- 21 League of El Paso; her accolades include the Lone Star Award from
- 22 the Association of Substance Abuse Programs, the Women of Impact
- 23 Award from El Paso Inc., and induction into the El Paso Commission
- 24 for Women Hall of Fame; and

## H.R. No. 1649

- 1 WHEREAS, Thanks to her efforts to eliminate the stigma that
- 2 surrounds mental illness, Sharon Butterworth has been an important
- 3 voice for those who cannot always speak for themselves, and she is
- 4 truly deserving of this special honor; now, therefore, be it
- 5 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 85th Texas
- 6 Legislature hereby congratulate Sharon Butterworth on receiving
- 7 the Texas Impact Award from Mental Health America of Texas and
- 8 extend to her sincere best wishes for continued success in her
- 9 important work; and, be it further
- 10 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
- 11 prepared for Ms. Butterworth as an expression of high regard by the
- 12 Texas House of Representatives.

Moody

## H.R. No. 1649

Straus Goldman Oliverson Allen Gonzales of Williamson Ortega González of El Paso Alonzo Paddie Alvarado Gooden Parker Anchia Guerra Paul Anderson of Dallas Guillen Perez Anderson of McLennan Gutierrez Phelan Arévalo Hefner Phillips Ashby Hernandez Pickett Bailes Herrero Price Bell Hinojosa Raney Holland Bernal Raymond Biedermann Howard Reynolds Huberty Rinaldi Blanco Bohac Hunter Roberts Bonnen of Brazoria Isaac Rodriguez of Bexar Rodriquez of Travis Bonnen of Galveston Israel Johnson of Dallas Burkett Romero, Jr. Burns Johnson of Harris Rose Burrows Kacal Sanford Button Keough Schaefer King of Hemphill Schofield Cain Canales King of Parker Schubert Capriglione King of Uvalde Shaheen Sheffield Clardy Klick Коор Shine Coleman Collier Krause Simmons Cook Kuempel Smithee Cortez Lambert Springer Cosper Landgraf Stephenson Craddick Stickland Lang Larson Stucky Cyrier Dale Laubenberg Swanson Darby Thierry Leach Davis of Dallas Longoria Thompson of Brazoria Davis of Harris Thompson of Harris Lozano Lucio III Tinderholt Deshotel Martinez Turner Dukes Metcalf Uresti Dutton Meyer VanDeaver Miller Elkins Villalba Faircloth Minjarez Vo Fallon Walle Moody Farrar Morrison White Wilson Flynn Muñoz, Jr. Frank Murphy Workman Frullo Murr Wray Geren Neave Wıı Zedler Gervin-Hawkins Nevárez

Zerwas

Oliveira

Giddings

	H.R. No. 1649
	Speaker of the House
	as adopted by the House on May 2,
2017, by a non-record vote.	
	Chief Clerk of the House