RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, Twenty-seven Texas A&M University students are 2 providing valuable support to the 85th Texas Legislature while 3 gaining experience in public service as members of the Agricultural 4 and Natural Resources Policy Internship Program and the Public 5 Policy Internship Program; and

6 WHEREAS, For more than two and a half decades, the Agricultural and Natural Resources Policy Internship Program has 7 sent student interns to Austin and Washington, D.C., where they 8 work on a wide array of issues; their strong background and interest 9 agriculture and natural resources allow them to offer 10 in 11 specialized knowledge to legislators; the program was founded in 12 response to a request by a member of the United States Congress for an intern who could assist his office with these matters, and it has 13 14 since grown to include numerous congressional offices as well as United States House of Representatives Committee 15 the on 16 Agriculture, the United States Department of Agriculture, and offices on the state level during legislative years; approximately 17 900 students have participated in semester-long internships; and 18

WHEREAS, The Public Policy Internship Program, established in 1999, works with various colleges and departments to create an interdisciplinary environment for comprehensive academic training, research, and policy programming; interns in the nation's capital and in Austin serve in a variety of settings that align with their academic and professional goals; some 700 students have

1

1 participated in semester-long internships; and

WHEREAS, Led by director Stephanie McMillen, both internship programs select their highly qualified and dedicated participants through a rigorous application process; in addition to academic achievement, students must demonstrate their potential to take full advantage of the opportunities for scholarly and professional development as well as the desire to serve our state and nation; and

8 WHEREAS, The 2017 Texas A&M University policy interns serving in Austin are Sarabeth Beauchamp, Chloe Beck, Ethan Boyd, Jordan 9 10 Buish, Gregory Cline, Samantha Durand, Alexandra Espinosa, Austin Halvorson, Julia Hamilton, Dominique Hawkins, Christopher Johnson, 11 12 Allison Kesseler, Michael Marucci, Kenneth McIntyre, Lauren Meents, Devin Miranda Pallares, Matthew Murdoch, Siddhi Patodia, 13 14 MiaMarie Pugh, Abigael Romero, Lindsey Schmalriede, Jena 15 Seidemann, Jordyn Senkirik, Stephen Shuchart, Valentina Tovar, 16 Taryn Woody, and Cassidy Zgabay; and

17 WHEREAS, Through the years, the Agricultural and Natural Resources Policy and Public Policy Internship Programs have helped 18 19 exceptional students deepen their understanding of governmental operations while developing professional skills and networks, and 20 alumni have gone on to make vital contributions and assume 21 leadership roles in a variety of arenas; the outstanding young 22 23 people who are giving of their time and talents throughout this 24 legislative session can indeed take pride in their achievements and service to the Lone Star State; now, therefore, be it 25

26 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 85th Texas
27 Legislature hereby recognize the Texas A&M University Agricultural

2

H.R. No. 1654 1 and Natural Resources Policy Internship Program and the Public 2 Policy Internship Program and commend the current participants for 3 their diligence and commitment; and, be it further

4 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be 5 prepared for the students as an expression of high regard from the 6 Texas House of Representatives.

Ashby

Straus Allen Alonzo Alvarado Anchia Anderson of Dallas Anderson of McLennan Arévalo Ashby Bailes Bell Bernal Biedermann Blanco Bohac Bonnen of Brazoria Bonnen of Galveston Burkett Burns Burrows Button Cain Canales Capriglione Clardy Coleman Collier Cook Cortez Cosper Craddick Cyrier Dale Darby Davis of Dallas Davis of Harris Dean Deshotel Dukes Dutton Elkins Faircloth Fallon Farrar Flynn Frank Frullo Geren Gervin-Hawkins Giddings

González of El Paso Gooden Guerra Guillen Gutierrez Hefner Hernandez Herrero Hinojosa Holland Howard Huberty Hunter Isaac Israel Johnson of Dallas Johnson of Harris Kacal Keough King of Hemphill King of Parker King of Uvalde Klick Коор Krause Kuempel Lambert Landgraf Lang Larson Laubenberg Leach Longoria Lozano Lucio III Martinez Metcalf Meyer Miller Minjarez Moody Morrison Muñoz, Jr. Murphy Murr Neave Nevárez Oliveira

Goldman

Oliverson Gonzales of Williamson Ortega Paddie Parker Paul Perez Phelan Phillips Pickett Price Raney Raymond Reynolds Rinaldi Roberts Rodriguez of Bexar Rodriguez of Travis Romero, Jr. Rose Sanford Schaefer Schofield Schubert Shaheen Sheffield Shine Simmons Smithee Springer Stephenson Stickland Stucky Swanson Thierry Thompson of Brazoria Thompson of Harris Tinderholt Turner Uresti VanDeaver Villalba Vo Walle White Wilson Workman Wray Wu Zedler Zerwas

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 1654 was adopted by the House on May 2, 2017, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House