H.R. No. 1784

RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, During the month of March 2017, the Texas Panhandle 2 suffered multiple, massive wildfires, and Chief Kevin Hamby of the 3 Wellington Volunteer Fire Department was part of a coalition of 4 first responders who fought heroically and tenaciously to save the 5 lives and property of Texans in the region; and

6 WHEREAS, Fueled by dry vegetation, high winds, and 7 unseasonably hot weather, the fast-moving wildfires broke out on 8 March 6 and raged for days, destroying around 500,000 acres of Texas 9 prairie land and resulting in the death of four people; the fires 10 were some of the largest in state history and led to Governor Greg 11 Abbott's declaring a state of emergency in six counties; and

WHEREAS, The combined efforts of fire personnel from around and beyond the region, including members of local volunteer fire departments, were needed to contain the blazes; working exhausting hours in perilous conditions, these dedicated individuals risked their lives to halt the fires' rampage and rescue residents, and their contributions were vital to averting further tragedy and destruction; and

WHEREAS, In answering the call of duty during this 19 catastrophic crisis, Chief Kevin Hamby demonstrated 20 an 21 extraordinary commitment to protecting the safety of his fellow citizens, and he has earned the enduring gratitude and admiration 22 23 of Texans across the state; now, therefore, be it

24

1

RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 85th Texas

H.R. No. 1784

Legislature hereby commend Chief Kevin Hamby of the Wellington
Volunteer Fire Department for his bravery, skill, and dedication in
fighting the Texas Panhandle wildfires of March 2017 and extend to
him sincere best wishes for the future; and, be it further

5 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be 6 prepared for Chief Hamby as an expression of high regard by the 7 Texas House of Representatives.

Springer

H.R. No. 1784

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 1784 was adopted by the House on May 12, 2017, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House