H.R. No. 1827

RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, The Klein Independent School District enjoyed 2 outstanding success at the 15th annual Tommy Tune Awards, hosted by 3 Theatre Under the Stars in Houston on April 18, 2017; and

WHEREAS, This year, Klein ISD outpaced all other 4 5 participating districts from the greater Houston area with the 20 nominations garnered by its students and their productions; Klein 6 High School received nominations in 12 of the 13 categories for its 7 staging of Sweeney Todd: The Demon Barber of Fleet Street, 8 including in the categories of best overall production, musical 9 direction, ensemble/chorus, scene design, costume design, lighting 10 11 design, and stage crew and technical execution; in addition, 12 Savannah Boyd was nominated for best supporting actress and Nick Lammey, for best supporting actor; Sweeney Todd earned the award 13 14 for best orchestra, while Ian Tonroy, who played the title role, won the award for best lead actor and Ryan Esparza, who portrayed Adolfo 15 16 Pirelli, was named best featured performer; and

WHEREAS, The district was also proudly represented by Klein 17 Collins High School, whose Once Upon a Mattress earned nods in the 18 categories for best scene design, costume design, and orchestra, 19 Klein Forest High School, whose In the Heights was nominated for 20 21 best orchestra, and Klein Oak High School, whose Curtains was 22 nominated for best costume design, orchestra, and choreography and 23 whose student Grace Nardecchia was included in the best supporting 24 actress category; and

1

H.R. No. 1827

1 WHEREAS, Through their inspired work, cast and crew members 2 from Klein ISD have furthered the district's tradition of 3 theatrical excellence, and they may indeed reflect with justifiable 4 pride on their outstanding accomplishments; now, therefore, be it

5 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 85th Texas 6 Legislature hereby congratulate the Klein Independent School 7 District on its fine showing at the Theatre Under the Stars 2017 8 Tommy Tune Awards and commend all the winners and nominees on their 9 achievements; and, be it further

10 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be 11 prepared for the district as an expression of high regard by the 12 Texas House of Representatives.

Roberts

2

H.R. No. 1827

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 1827 was adopted by the House on May 12, 2017, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House