RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, Residents of Tarrant County are mourning the loss of 2 former state representative Anna Mowery, who passed away on April 3 20, 2017, at the age of 86; and WHEREAS, Born in Decatur on January 4, 1931, the former Anna 4 5 Bess Renshaw graduated from Rhome High School and went on to earn a bachelor's degree in drama, speech, and political science from 6

Central State University in Oklahoma; she married Wesley Mowery in 8

Baylor University and a master's degree in history and speech from

1951, and they became the proud parents of four children, Jeanette, 9

Marianne, Tim, and Mark; in later years, she knew the joy of 10

11 welcoming four grandchildren into her treasured family; and

7

12 WHEREAS, The Mowerys lived in Alaska, Oklahoma, and Abilene before settling in Fort Worth in 1970; five years later, Anna Mowery 13 14 became the first woman to lead a major political party in Tarrant County when she was selected as Republican chair; her skill and 15 16 dynamism helped the GOP attract greater support in the area, and she played a key role in U.S. Representative Joe Barton's election 17 victory in 1984; in addition, she was a delegate for Ronald Reagan 18 at the 1976 Republican National Convention and then took on the role 19

20 of county chair for his 1984 presidential campaign; and

21 WHEREAS, First elected to the Texas House

Representative Mowery served her constituents in District 97 with 22

23 tremendous dedication until 2007; a member of the Appropriations,

Elections, Labor and Employment Relations, and Business 24

H.R. No. 1828

- 1 Industry Committees, among others, she was especially well known
- 2 for her work in chairing the Land and Resource Management Committee
- 3 for three legislative sessions; though she was a staunch believer
- 4 in conservative values, she was still able to work effectively
- 5 across the aisle, and her integrity and determination made her a
- 6 role model and mentor to countless women in the Republican Party;
- 7 and
- 8 WHEREAS, Representative Mowery further benefited her fellow
- 9 citizens through her involvement with the Rape Crisis Coalition,
- 10 Women's Policy Forum, Texas Women's Alliance, and the Greater Fort
- 11 Worth Literacy Council, and she was a valued member of Travis Avenue
- 12 Baptist Church; this respected civic and political leader was the
- 13 recipient of numerous accolades, including the NFIB Guardian Award,
- 14 the 4-H Alumni Award, and the Friend of Hospice Award from the Texas
- 15 and New Mexico hospice organizations; and
- 16 WHEREAS, Through her effective work as a party leader and a
- 17 state legislator, Anna Mowery was an influential trailblazer in
- 18 Tarrant County politics, and she will be remembered with admiration
- 19 and affection by all who were privileged to know her; now,
- 20 therefore, be it
- 21 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 85th Texas
- 22 Legislature hereby pay tribute to the life of the Honorable Anna
- 23 Mowery and extend deepest condolences to her loved ones; and, be it
- 24 further
- 25 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
- 26 prepared for her family and that when the Texas House of
- 27 Representatives adjourns this day, it do so in memory of Anna

H.R. No. 1828

1 Mowery.

Goldman Klick Geren

H.R. No. 1828

Straus Goldman Oliverson Allen Gonzales of Williamson Ortega González of El Paso Alonzo Paddie Gooden Alvarado Parker Anchia Guerra Paul Anderson of Dallas Guillen Perez Anderson of McLennan Gutierrez Phelan Arévalo Hefner Phillips Ashby Hernandez Pickett Bailes Herrero Price Bell Hinojosa Raney Holland Bernal Raymond Biedermann Howard Reynolds Huberty Rinaldi Blanco Bohac Hunter Roberts Bonnen of Brazoria Rodriguez of Bexar Isaac Bonnen of Galveston Israel Rodriguez of Travis Johnson of Dallas Burkett Romero, Jr. Burns Johnson of Harris Rose Burrows Kacal Sanford Button Keough Schaefer King of Hemphill Schofield Cain Canales King of Parker Schubert Capriglione King of Uvalde Shaheen Sheffield Clardy Klick Коор Coleman Shine Collier Krause Simmons Cook Kuempel Smithee Cortez Lambert Springer Cosper Landgraf Stephenson Craddick Stickland Lang Larson Stucky Cyrier Dale Laubenberg Swanson Darby Thierry Leach Davis of Dallas Longoria Thompson of Brazoria Thompson of Harris Davis of Harris Lozano Lucio III Tinderholt Deshotel Martinez Turner Dukes Metcalf Uresti Dutton Meyer VanDeaver Miller Elkins Villalba Faircloth Minjarez Vo Fallon Walle Moody Farrar Morrison White Flynn Muñoz, Jr. Wilson Frank Workman Murphy Frullo Murr Wray Geren Neave Wıı Zedler Gervin-Hawkins Nevárez

Zerwas

Oliveira

Giddings

		H.R.	No.	1828
	Speaker of	the H	ouse	
I certify that H.R. No. 1828 was	unanimously adop	ted b	y a r	ising
rote of the House on May 1, 2017.				

Chief Clerk of the House