H.R. No. 1829

RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, The death of former state representative Lauro Cruz 2 on January 29, 2017, at the age of 83, concluded a remarkable life

3 of service; and

11

WHEREAS, Born in Beaumont on May 20, 1933, Lauro Cruz was the son of Manuel Cruz and Margarita Menchaca Cruz; he grew up in Houston, where he took on adult responsibilities as a boy, selecting and buying produce for the family grocery store; during the Korean War, he enlisted in the U.S. Marine Corps, and on his return, he applied for a job with the Houston Metropolitan Transit Authority; he met with significant resistance, but persevered to

become the agency's first Mexican American bus driver; and

12 WHEREAS, Mr. Cruz purchased a grocery store in the Sixth Ward while working his way through school; he completed his bachelor's 13 14 degree in political science at the University of Houston and went on to attend South Texas College of Law; recognizing the need for 15 16 greater Hispanic representation in the political process, he ran successfully for precinct judge, and he participated in the 1966 17 Farmworkers March; that same year, he won a seat in the Texas House 18 as the first Mexican American legislator elected from Harris County 19 20 in over a century and a quarter; a tireless champion of minorities 21 and the struggle for social justice, he coauthored the first minimum wage bill in Texas, strove to ensure the rights of farm and 22 23 migrant workers, and secured the passage of а transportation bill; he was also instrumental in the passage of a 24

1 measure regulating hazardous substances in the state; and

2 WHEREAS, With a young family to support, Mr. Cruz left the legislature after three terms, and in 1972, he became a special 3 assistant to Governor Dolph Briscoe; he later served as executive 4 5 director of the Greater South Texas Cultural Basin Commission and led the Texas Good Neighbor Commission; subsequently, he became one 6 of the state's first independent Hispanic lobbyists, and he helped 7 8 educate young Texans about politics and the Mexican American experience as founder of the Innovation 88 Leadership Program at 9 the Lyndon B. Johnson School of Public Affairs at The University of 10 Texas at Austin, where he taught during the late 1980s and early 11 1990s; in addition, he served as president of the U.S. State 12 Department-affiliated International Hospitality Council; his many 13 14 accolades included the National Benito Juarez-Lincoln Award for 15 his contributions to the progress of Mexican Americans; and

15 his contributions to the progress of Mexican Americans; and
16 WHEREAS, Mr. Cruz shared a fulfilling marriage of more than
17 61 years with his college sweetheart, Clarice Cruz; he was the
18 father of four treasured children, Chris, Camille, Jerry, and Sat
19 Nam, and he took great pride in his three grandchildren, Lucas
20 Tenbrook and Kasey and Cody Cruz; a man of faith, he was a longtime
21 member of the Lutheran church; and

WHEREAS, Deeply committed to building a more just and equitable society, Lauro Cruz set an inspiring example of leadership, and his achievements have helped to better the lives of countless Texans; now, therefore, be it

26 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 85th Texas 27 Legislature hereby pay tribute to the life of the Honorable Lauro

H.R. No. 1829

- 1 Cruz and extend sincere sympathy to his family and friends; and, be
- 2 it further
- 3 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
- 4 prepared for his family and that when the Texas House of
- 5 Representatives adjourns this day, it do so in memory of the
- 6 Honorable Lauro Cruz.

Farrar Alonzo

H.R. No. 1829

Straus Goldman Oliverson Allen Gonzales of Williamson Ortega González of El Paso Alonzo Paddie Gooden Alvarado Parker Anchia Guerra Paul Anderson of Dallas Guillen Perez Anderson of McLennan Gutierrez Phelan Arévalo Hefner Phillips Ashby Hernandez Pickett Bailes Herrero Price Bell Hinojosa Raney Holland Bernal Raymond Biedermann Howard Reynolds Huberty Rinaldi Blanco Bohac Hunter Roberts Bonnen of Brazoria Rodriguez of Bexar Isaac Bonnen of Galveston Israel Rodriguez of Travis Johnson of Dallas Burkett Romero, Jr. Burns Johnson of Harris Rose Burrows Kacal Sanford Button Keough Schaefer King of Hemphill Schofield Cain Canales King of Parker Schubert Capriglione King of Uvalde Shaheen Sheffield Clardy Klick Коор Coleman Shine Collier Krause Simmons Cook Kuempel Smithee Cortez Lambert Springer Cosper Landgraf Stephenson Craddick Stickland Lang Larson Stucky Cyrier Dale Laubenberg Swanson Darby Thierry Leach Davis of Dallas Longoria Thompson of Brazoria Davis of Harris Thompson of Harris Lozano Lucio III Tinderholt Deshotel Martinez Turner Dukes Metcalf Uresti Dutton Meyer VanDeaver Miller Elkins Villalba Faircloth Minjarez Vo Fallon Walle Moody Farrar Morrison White Flynn Muñoz, Jr. Wilson Frank Workman Murphy Frullo Murr Wray Geren Neave Wıı Zedler Gervin-Hawkins Nevárez

Zerwas

Oliveira

Giddings

	H.R. No. 1829
	Speaker of the House
-	unanimously adopted by a rising
rote of the House on May 8, 2017.	
	Chief Clerk of the House