RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, Members of the San Antonio Edgewood Lions Club are 2 celebrating the 100th anniversary of the founding of Lions Clubs International with a special event, Celebrate a Century of Service 3 Here in Texas--Where It All Began, on May 17-21, 2017; and 4 WHEREAS, Established by Melvin Jones, the International 5 Association of Lions Clubs held its first convention in October 6 7 1917 at the Adolphus Hotel in Dallas, and of the original 23 clubs, 12 were formed in the Lone Star State; a watershed moment occurred 8 in 1925 when Helen Keller addressed the Lions Clubs International 9 convention and urged attendees to become "Knights of the Blind"; in 10 11 the years since, members have enthusiastically accepted her 12 challenge, providing assistance to millions of people who suffer from blindness or limited vision through a wide variety of 13 14 programs; and WHEREAS, In 1970, Lions Clubs International adopted the motto 15 "We Serve," and the Lions Clubs of Texas have originated many of 16 their own service projects, including the Juvenile Diabetes 17 Program, the Journey for Sight fund-raising event, and the Texas 18 Lions Foundation disaster relief fund; each year, the San Antonio 19 Edgewood Lions Club organizes a picnic for more than 400 children 20 21 with disabilities at the Texas Lions Camp in Kerrville, provides free vision screenings through the Lions Mobile Eye Screening Unit, 22 23 hosts the Young Women's Scholarship Pageant, and collects over 500

pairs of used eyeglasses for those in need; moreover, this

24

H.R. No. 1832

- 1 exemplary chapter supports the Edgewood Independent School
- 2 District Family Alliance Conference, health fair, and Parent
- 3 Volunteers Appreciation Dinner, sponsors student participation in
- 4 a number of different contests, and throws the annual Santa's
- 5 Surprise Party at Laser Quest; and
- 6 WHEREAS, The Edgewood Lions Club has significantly advanced
- 7 the mission of one of the largest, most respected, and most
- 8 effective service organizations in the world, and it is a pleasure
- 9 to recognize its members as they commemorate this significant
- 10 milestone in the history of the Lions; now, therefore, be it
- RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 85th Texas
- 12 Legislature hereby honor the San Antonio Edgewood Lions Club on the
- 13 100th anniversary of Lions Clubs International and extend to all
- 14 those associated with the chapter sincere best wishes for continued
- 15 success in their important work; and, be it further
- 16 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
- 17 prepared for the chapter as an expression of high regard by the
- 18 Texas House of Representatives.

Minjarez

H.R. No. 1832

Straus Allen Alonzo Alvarado Anchia Anderson of Dallas Anderson of McLennan Arévalo Ashby Bailes Bell Bernal Biedermann Blanco Bohac Bonnen of Brazoria Bonnen of Galveston Burkett Burns Burrows Button Cain Canales Capriglione Clardy Coleman Collier Cook Cortez	Goldman Gonzales of Williamson González of El Paso Gooden Guerra Guillen Gutierrez Hefner Hernandez Herrero Hinojosa Holland Howard Huberty Hunter Isaac Israel Johnson of Dallas Johnson of Harris Kacal Keough King of Hemphill King of Parker King of Uvalde Klick Koop Krause Kuempel Lambert	Oliverson Ortega Paddie Parker Paul Perez Phelan Phillips Pickett Price Raney Raymond Reynolds Rinaldi Roberts Rodriguez of Bexar Rodriguez of Travis Romero, Jr. Rose Sanford Schaefer Schofield Schubert Shaheen Sheffield Shine Simmons Smithee Springer
Craddick Cyrier Dale	Lang Larson	Stickland Stucky Swanson
Darby	Laubenberg Leach	Thierry
Davis of Dallas	Longoria	Thompson of Brazoria
Davis of Harris Dean	Lozano Lucio III	Thompson of Harris Tinderholt
Deshotel	Martinez	Turner
Dukes	Metcalf	Uresti
Dutton	Meyer	VanDeaver
Elkins	Miller	Villalba
Faircloth	Minjarez	Vo
Fallon Farrar	Moody Morrison	Walle White
Flynn	Muñoz, Jr.	Wilson
Frank	Murphy	Workman
Frullo	Murr	Wray
Geren	Neave	Wu
Gervin-Hawkins	Nevárez	Zedler
Giddings	Oliveira	Zerwas

	H.R. No. 1832
	Speaker of the House
I certify that H.R. No. 1832 w	as adopted by the House on May 3,
2017, by a non-record vote.	
	Chief Clerk of the House