RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, Donald N. Egdorf of the Houston Police Department is 2 being promoted to sergeant on May 11, 2017, and this occasion 3 provides a fitting opportunity to commend him on his 16 years of 4 exemplary service; and

5 WHEREAS, A veteran of the U.S. Air Force, Don Egdorf joined 6 HPD in May 2001; he became a member of the department's DWI Task 7 Force in January 2003, and in the years since, he has specialized in 8 crimes related to driving while intoxicated, from first offense DWI 9 to felony murder, and has made more than 3,000 DWI-related arrests; 10 and

WHEREAS, Since July 2014, Sergeant Egdorf has been the 11 12 DWI/traffic safety liaison officer with the Traffic Enforcement Division, overseeing all DWI training in the department and working 13 14 closely with the Vehicular Crimes Section of the Harris County District Attorney's Office; he also teaches DWI classes to police 15 officers and prosecutors from across the state, and he has helped 16 teach every Standardized Field Sobriety Testing course at the 17 police academy since 2005; and 18

WHEREAS, In addition, Sergeant Egdorf regularly speaks about drinking and driving with audiences at schools, community centers, and other venues; during the past two legislative sessions, he has shared his insight and expertise with members and staffers of the Texas Legislature, speaking eloquently about the dangers and consequences of distracted driving in support of efforts to enact a

1

1 statewide ban on texting while driving; and

2 WHEREAS, Sergeant Egdorf has received 27 letters of 3 commendation, and he has twice been named DWI Officer of the Year by 4 the DA's office; Mothers Against Drunk Driving has presented him 5 with numerous awards, including its Outstanding Service Award, and 6 he received a Platinum Telly Award for producing the documentary 7 film *End of Watch: The Kevin Will Story*, about an HPD officer killed 8 by a drunk driver in 2011; and

9 WHEREAS, For many years, Sergeant Don Egdorf has helped make 10 Texas a safer place through his dedication to enforcing the law and 11 educating the public about drinking and driving, and he may indeed 12 take great pride in his many achievements and in his well-deserved 13 promotion; now, therefore, be it

14 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 85th Texas 15 Legislature hereby congratulate Donald N. Egdorf of the Houston 16 Police Department on his promotion to sergeant and extend to him 17 sincere best wishes for continued success with his important work; 18 and, be it further

19 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be 20 prepared for Sergeant Egdorf as an expression of high regard by the 21 Texas House of Representatives.

Craddick

2

Straus Allen Alonzo Alvarado Anchia Anderson of Dallas Anderson of McLennan Arévalo Ashby Bailes Bell Bernal Biedermann Blanco Bohac Bonnen of Brazoria Bonnen of Galveston Burkett Burns Burrows Button Cain Canales Capriglione Clardy Coleman Collier Cook Cortez Cosper Craddick Cyrier Dale Darby Davis of Dallas Davis of Harris Dean Deshotel Dukes Dutton Elkins Faircloth Fallon Farrar Flynn Frank Frullo Geren Gervin-Hawkins Giddings

González of El Paso Gooden Guerra Guillen Gutierrez Hefner Hernandez Herrero Hinojosa Holland Howard Huberty Hunter Isaac Israel Johnson of Dallas Johnson of Harris Kacal Keough King of Hemphill King of Parker King of Uvalde Klick Коор Krause Kuempel Lambert Landgraf Lang Larson Laubenberg Leach Longoria Lozano Lucio III Martinez Metcalf Meyer Miller Minjarez Moody Morrison Muñoz, Jr. Murphy Murr Neave Nevárez Oliveira

Goldman

Oliverson Gonzales of Williamson Ortega Paddie Parker Paul Perez Phelan Phillips Pickett Price Raney Raymond Reynolds Rinaldi Roberts Rodriguez of Bexar Rodriguez of Travis Romero, Jr. Rose Sanford Schaefer Schofield Schubert Shaheen Sheffield Shine Simmons Smithee Springer Stephenson Stickland Stucky Swanson Thierry Thompson of Brazoria Thompson of Harris Tinderholt Turner Uresti VanDeaver Villalba Vo Walle White Wilson Workman Wray Wu Zedler Zerwas

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 1847 was adopted by the House on May 4, 2017, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House