## RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, The El Paso County DWI Drug Court Intervention and 2 Treatment Program has earned its second consecutive recognition as a DWI Academy Court by the National Highway Traffic Safety 3 Administration and the National Center for DWI Courts; and 4 5 WHEREAS, Overseen by Judge Robert S. Anchondo of El Paso County Criminal Court at Law No. 2, the DWI Drug Court Intervention 6 7 and Treatment Program has benefited area residents for more than a decade; with the goal of helping to reduce recidivism among adult 8 9 DWI and drug offenders, the initiative works to provide appropriate assistance to these individuals through judicial monitoring, 10 11 mandatory treatment, and intensive supervision; and 12 WHEREAS, This specialized court is one of only four programs in the country to receive the DWI Academy Court designation for the 13 14 current three-year term; it was selected for this prestigious honor by demonstrating exemplary practices, and it will serve as a 15 16 national model and mentor for other such programs, offering education and training opportunities for new DWI courts, hosting 17 staff from other jurisdictions for site visits, and playing a key 18 part in developing and improving DWI court methods; and 19 20 WHEREAS, Committed to improving the safety and well-being of 21 El Paso County, Judge Robert Anchondo's DWI drug court program has set an inspiring example for other communities throughout the state 22 23 and nation, and it is indeed deserving of recognition for its vital

contributions to the justice system; now, therefore, be it

24

## H.R. No. 1852

- 1 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 85th Texas
- 2 Legislature hereby commend the El Paso County DWI Drug Court
- 3 Intervention and Treatment Program on its recognition as a DWI
- 4 Academy Court and extend to all those associated with the
- 5 initiative sincere best wishes for the future; and, be it further
- 6 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
- 7 prepared for the program as an expression of high regard by the
- 8 Texas House of Representatives.

Moody

## H.R. No. 1852

Straus Goldman Oliverson Allen Gonzales of Williamson Ortega González of El Paso Alonzo Paddie Alvarado Gooden Parker Anchia Guerra Paul Anderson of Dallas Guillen Perez Anderson of McLennan Gutierrez Phelan Arévalo Hefner Phillips Ashby Hernandez Pickett Bailes Herrero Price Hinojosa Bell Raney Holland Bernal Raymond Biedermann Howard Reynolds Huberty Rinaldi Blanco Bohac Hunter Roberts Bonnen of Brazoria Isaac Rodriguez of Bexar Bonnen of Galveston Israel Rodriguez of Travis Johnson of Dallas Burkett Romero, Jr. Burns Johnson of Harris Rose Burrows Kacal Sanford Button Keough Schaefer King of Hemphill Schofield Cain Canales King of Parker Schubert Capriglione King of Uvalde Shaheen Sheffield Clardy Klick Коор Shine Coleman Collier Krause Simmons Cook Kuempel Smithee Cortez Lambert Springer Cosper Landgraf Stephenson Craddick Stickland Lang Larson Stucky Cyrier Dale Laubenberg Swanson Darby Thierry Leach Davis of Dallas Longoria Thompson of Brazoria Davis of Harris Thompson of Harris Lozano Lucio III Tinderholt Deshotel Martinez Turner Dukes Metcalf Uresti Dutton Meyer VanDeaver Miller Elkins Villalba Faircloth Minjarez Vo Fallon Walle Moody Farrar Morrison White Wilson Flynn Muñoz, Jr. Frank Murphy Workman Frullo Murr Wray Geren Neave Wıı Zedler Gervin-Hawkins Nevárez

Zerwas

Oliveira

Giddings

	H.R. No. 1852
	Speaker of the House
I certify that H.R. No. 1852 vectors 2017, by a non-record vote.	was adopted by the House on May 2,
	Chief Clerk of the House