H.R. No. 1855

## RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, Kaitlyn Jankovsky is an inspiring young lady who has 2 shown courage and resolve during her battle against childhood 3 cancer; and

WHEREAS, The daughter of Richard and Joann Jankovsky, Kaitlyn Jankovsky was born on December 12, 2000, in Harlingen; she is currently a sophomore at Woodsboro High School, where she is a member of the National Honor Society; before her illness, she managed an active schedule of cheerleading, track, and volleyball outside of her work in the classroom; and

WHEREAS, In early August 2014, Kaitlyn was diagnosed with acute lymphoblastic leukemia, the most common form of childhood cancer; she immediately began treatment at Driscoll Children's Hospital in Corpus Christi, and she completed chemotherapy on November 10, 2016; and

WHEREAS, This lively teenager has demonstrated a fondness for 15 16 hunting and the outdoors, and while the disease has interrupted her involvement in extracurricular pursuits, she maintains a positive 17 attitude and is engaged in the goal of promoting childhood cancer 18 awareness; blessed with the love and reassurance of her family, she 19 20 has also received an outpouring of prayers and support from near and far, and members of her community have banded together to raise 21 funds in her behalf; and 22

23 WHEREAS, Kaitlyn Jankovsky is persevering through a life 24 challenge that would test the fortitude of individuals many years

1

H.R. No. 1855 1 her senior, and her strength and determination have earned her the 2 heartfelt admiration of countless people; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 85th Texas Legislature hereby honor Kaitlyn Jankovsky for her bravery in fighting cancer and extend to her and her family warmest best wishes for all the good fortune she so richly deserves in the journey ahead; and, be it further

8 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be 9 prepared for Ms. Jankovsky as an expression of high regard by the 10 Texas House of Representatives.

## Raymond

H.R. No. 1855

Straus Allen Alonzo Alvarado Anchia Anderson of Dallas Anderson of McLennan Arévalo Ashby Bailes Bell Bernal Biedermann Blanco Bohac Bonnen of Brazoria Bonnen of Galveston Burkett Burns Burrows Button Cain Canales Capriglione Clardy Coleman Collier Cook Cortez Cosper Craddick Cyrier Dale Darby Davis of Dallas Davis of Harris Dean Deshotel Dukes Dutton Elkins Faircloth Fallon Farrar Flynn Frank Frullo Geren Gervin-Hawkins Giddings

González of El Paso Gooden Guerra Guillen Gutierrez Hefner Hernandez Herrero Hinojosa Holland Howard Huberty Hunter Isaac Israel Johnson of Dallas Johnson of Harris Kacal Keough King of Hemphill King of Parker King of Uvalde Klick Коор Krause Kuempel Lambert Landgraf Lang Larson Laubenberg Leach Longoria Lozano Lucio III Martinez Metcalf Meyer Miller Minjarez Moody Morrison Muñoz, Jr. Murphy Murr Neave Nevárez Oliveira

Goldman

Oliverson Gonzales of Williamson Ortega Paddie Parker Paul Perez Phelan Phillips Pickett Price Raney Raymond Reynolds Rinaldi Roberts Rodriguez of Bexar Rodriguez of Travis Romero, Jr. Rose Sanford Schaefer Schofield Schubert Shaheen Sheffield Shine Simmons Smithee Springer Stephenson Stickland Stucky Swanson Thierry Thompson of Brazoria Thompson of Harris Tinderholt Turner Uresti VanDeaver Villalba Vo Walle White Wilson Workman Wray Wu Zedler Zerwas

H.R. No. 1855

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 1855 was adopted by the House on May 2, 2017, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House