H.R. No. 1859

RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, Bill Woody retired as justice of the peace for Ellis 2 County Precinct 1 on March 30, 2017, drawing to a close an exemplary tenure with the county that spanned more than a quarter century; and 3 WHEREAS, A veteran of the United States Army, Bill Woody 4 5 served in the Vietnam War before signing on with the Dallas Fire Department, where he worked for 30 years; in 1991, he began his 6 7 career with Ellis County as the Precinct 1 constable, a position he held for eight years, until his election as justice of the peace; 8 9 and

10 WHEREAS, Judge Woody distinguished himself through his 11 dedicated efforts as a county official; as constable, he took a 12 special interest in making a positive difference in the lives of the 13 young people he encountered in his duties, and his accomplished 14 work as justice of the peace earned the widespread appreciation of 15 his colleagues and the public; and

16 WHEREAS, In addition to fulfilling his professional 17 responsibilities, this esteemed Texan is active in the American 18 Legion, and he is a 32nd degree Mason; in retirement, he is looking 19 forward to embarking on trips to Alaska and numerous other parts of 20 the country; and

21 WHEREAS, Judge Woody greatly benefited his fellow citizens 22 through his commitment to upholding the highest standards of his 23 office, and as he begins the next exciting chapter of his life, he 24 may take justifiable pride in his many contributions to Ellis

1

H.R. No. 1859

1 County; now, therefore, be it

2 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 85th Texas 3 Legislature hereby congratulate Bill Woody on his retirement as 4 justice of the peace for Ellis County Precinct 1 and extend to him 5 sincere best wishes for the future; and, be it further

6 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be 7 prepared for Mr. Woody as an expression of high regard by the Texas 8 House of Representatives.

Wray

H.R. No. 1859

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 1859 was adopted by the House on May 12, 2017, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House