## RESOLUTION

- 1 WHEREAS, The members of the Tuloso-Midway High School
- 2 journalism team distinguished themselves with their performances
- 3 at the University Interscholastic League Region 4-5A Academics
- 4 Spring Meet, held on April 8, 2017; and
- 5 WHEREAS, Skillfully coached by English teacher Belinda
- 6 Covarrubuiz and journalism teacher Matt Meintheit, the team had
- 7 previously earned second place in the district competition; during
- 8 that meet, senior Rianna Turner placed first in editorial writing,
- 9 second in feature writing, and third in ready writing, while senior
- 10 Tyler Hotz won first place in headline writing and third place in
- 11 feature writing; also making invaluable contributions to the squad
- 12 was Sarah Landry, a freshman at Tuloso-Midway; and
- WHEREAS, On the basis of its superior performance at the
- 14 district meet, the team advanced to the regional competition, where
- 15 it continued to excel, securing first place with a total of 10
- 16 points; in addition, Ms. Hotz placed first in feature and news
- 17 writing and second in headline writing at the regional level; and
- 18 WHEREAS, With their efforts in these UIL competitions, these
- 19 bright young Texans have proudly represented Tuloso-Midway High
- 20 School, and the dedication they have demonstrated is sure to serve
- 21 them well in the years ahead; now, therefore, be it
- 22 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 85th Texas
- 23 Legislature hereby congratulate the members of the Tuloso-Midway
- 24 High School journalism team on their participation in the 2017 UIL

H.R. No. 1866

- 1 Region 4--5A Academics Spring Meet and extend to them sincere best
- 2 wishes for continued success; and, be it further
- 3 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
- 4 prepared for the students as an expression of high regard by the
- 5 Texas House of Representatives.

Herrero

H.R. No. 1866

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 1866 was adopted by the House on May 12, 2017, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House