By: Sanford H.R. No. 1899

## RESOLUTION

- 1 WHEREAS, Four students from the Prosper High School Eagle
- 2 Production Group distinguished themselves at the 2017 University
- 3 Interscholastic League Young Filmmakers Festival; and
- WHEREAS, Two animated shorts from Eagle Production Group,
- 5 Prosper High School's film production team, advanced to the state
- 6 competition, which took place at the Paramount Theatre in Austin on
- 7 March 1, 2017; and
- 8 WHEREAS, Welcome Home is a stop-motion film that follows a
- 9 group of toys as they prepare for their owner to return after an
- 10 absence; directed and produced by Ryan Arias, the piece placed
- 11 fourth in the traditional animation category; and
- WHEREAS, The Misfit, by Jessica Hirthler, Mason McCarter, and
- 13 Nicholas Gonzalez, conveys a message about self-acceptance and
- 14 individuality; the stop-motion short earned fifth-place honors in
- 15 the traditional animation category; and
- 16 WHEREAS, These outstanding young Texans have shown great
- 17 initiative and ability in their artistic endeavors, and they may
- 18 indeed reflect with pride on their achievements; now, therefore, be
- 19 it
- 20 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 85th Texas
- 21 Legislature hereby congratulate Ryan Arias, Jessica Hirthler,
- 22 Mason McCarter, and Nicholas Gonzalez on their noteworthy success
- 23 at the 2017 University Interscholastic League Young Filmmakers
- 24 Festival and extend to them sincere best wishes for the future; and,

H.R. No. 1899

- 1 be it further
- 2 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
- 3 prepared for the students as an expression of high regard by the
- 4 Texas House of Representatives.