RESOLUTION

WHEREAS, The Honorable Jim Keffer concluded his noteworthy
tenure as the representative for Texas House District 60 in January
2017, after 10 consecutive terms in office; and

WHEREAS, First elected in 1996, Representative Keffer demonstrated a lasting commitment to lowering taxes and eliminating debt; he coauthored the Texas Taxpayer Appraisal Bill of Rights, which created the state's first appraisal cap on homeowner property taxes, and in 1997, 1999, and 2007, he authored three of the largest tax cuts in Texas history; and

WHEREAS, Representative Keffer also earned a reputation as a 10 powerful advocate for rural communities, and he led efforts to 11 12 reform the education system, eliminate Medicaid fraud, and provide additional financial security for retired teachers; as chair of the 13 Natural Resources Committee, he played a key role in the passage of 14 historic legislation to fund the State Water Plan, and he served 15 16 three terms as chair of the Energy Resources Committee; moreover, he chaired the Ways and Means Committee and the Select Committee on 17 Property Tax Relief, and he served as both chair and vice chair of 18 the Economic Development Committee and as a member of numerous 19 20 other committees, including Business and Industry, Redistricting, 21 and Pensions and Investments; and

WHEREAS, In 2011, Representative Keffer was named one of the state's best legislators by *Texas Monthly* magazine, and he was selected as one of the top five legislators by Gallery Watch; in

1

addition, he garnered such prestigious accolades as the Golden
Flame Award from the Family and Consumer Sciences Teachers
Association of Texas and the Chairman's Circle Award from the
Republican Party of Texas; and

5 WHEREAS, A graduate of Texas Tech University, Representative 6 Keffer is the president of EBAA Iron Sales; his return to private 7 life allows him to spend more time with his wife of 40 years, 8 Leslie, and a treasured family that includes three sons and two 9 grandchildren; and

10 WHEREAS, Throughout his two decades in office, Jim Keffer 11 represented his constituents with vision, skill, and dedication, 12 and his lasting contributions to the Lone Star State have earned the 13 deep respect and appreciation of all Texans; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 85th Texas Legislature hereby commend the Honorable Jim Keffer for his outstanding service as a member of the Texas Legislature and extend to him sincere best wishes for the future; and, be it further

18 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be 19 prepared for Representative Keffer as an expression of high regard 20 by the Texas House of Representatives.

> Lucio III Howard

2

Straus Allen Alonzo Alvarado Anchia Anderson of Dallas Anderson of McLennan Arévalo Ashby Bailes Bell Bernal Biedermann Blanco Bohac Bonnen of Brazoria Bonnen of Galveston Burkett Burns Burrows Button Cain Canales Capriglione Clardy Coleman Collier Cook Cortez Cosper Craddick Cyrier Dale Darby Davis of Dallas Davis of Harris Dean Deshotel Dukes Dutton Elkins Faircloth Fallon Farrar Flynn Frank Frullo Geren Gervin-Hawkins Giddings

González of El Paso Gooden Guerra Guillen Gutierrez Hefner Hernandez Herrero Hinojosa Holland Howard Huberty Hunter Isaac Israel Johnson of Dallas Johnson of Harris Kacal Keough King of Hemphill King of Parker King of Uvalde Klick Коор Krause Kuempel Lambert Landgraf Lang Larson Laubenberg Leach Longoria Lozano Lucio III Martinez Metcalf Meyer Miller Minjarez Moody Morrison Muñoz, Jr. Murphy Murr Neave Nevárez Oliveira

Goldman

Oliverson Gonzales of Williamson Ortega Paddie Parker Paul Perez Phelan Phillips Pickett Price Raney Raymond Reynolds Rinaldi Roberts Rodriguez of Bexar Rodriguez of Travis Romero, Jr. Rose Sanford Schaefer Schofield Schubert Shaheen Sheffield Shine Simmons Smithee Springer Stephenson Stickland Stucky Swanson Thierry Thompson of Brazoria Thompson of Harris Tinderholt Turner Uresti VanDeaver Villalba Vo Walle White Wilson Workman Wray Wu Zedler Zerwas

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 1908 was adopted by the House on May 12, 2017, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House