RESOLUTION

WHEREAS, Many dedicated Texans are gathering in Austin on May
2 10, 2017, to take part in the inaugural Refugee Advocacy Day at the
3 State Capitol; and

WHEREAS, For decades, the Lone Star State has been a leading destination for the resettlement of refugees; over 40,000 refugees began making new lives in Texas between 2010 and 2015 alone; and

7 WHEREAS, The state has more than 20 refugee resettlement 8 offices, most of them with specific faith roots; multifaith 9 partners unite their efforts out of a mutual commitment to helping 10 vulnerable populations facing persecution, and in this endeavor, 11 they continue a tradition that has resulted in the resettlement of 12 hundreds of thousands of refugees in the United States since the end 13 of World War II; and

14 WHEREAS, Refugees undergo extensive, stringent screening before they are admitted to the United States, and communities 15 16 across Texas have welcomed them as hardworking neighbors who bring new energy and ideas that lead to innovation and economic 17 development; refugees demonstrate the resilience, determination, 18 and optimism that have always defined the American spirit, and over 19 20 the years, they have become taxpayers, business owners, and leaders 21 in a broad range of industries; and

WHEREAS, The advocates visiting the Capitol on this day include community volunteers, organizations that serve refugees, refugee leaders, and members of a wide variety of faith-based

1

organizations; in an era that has seen an unprecedented number of refugees fleeing danger and oppression, it is indeed appropriate to acknowledge those engaged in refugee resettlement for setting a humanitarian example that is respected and admired around the world; now, therefore, be it

6 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 85th Texas 7 Legislature hereby recognize May 10, 2017, as Refugee Advocacy Day 8 at the State Capitol and extend to all those participating in this 9 event sincere best wishes for the future.

> Wu Turner Vo Howard Anchia

Straus Allen Alonzo Alvarado Anchia Anderson of Dallas Anderson of McLennan Arévalo Ashby Bailes Bell Bernal Biedermann Blanco Bohac Bonnen of Brazoria Bonnen of Galveston Burkett Burns Burrows Button Cain Canales Capriglione Clardy Coleman Collier Cook Cortez Cosper Craddick Cyrier Dale Darby Davis of Dallas Davis of Harris Dean Deshotel Dukes Dutton Elkins Faircloth Fallon Farrar Flynn Frank Frullo Geren Gervin-Hawkins Giddings

González of El Paso Gooden Guerra Guillen Gutierrez Hefner Hernandez Herrero Hinojosa Holland Howard Huberty Hunter Isaac Israel Johnson of Dallas Johnson of Harris Kacal Keough King of Hemphill King of Parker King of Uvalde Klick Коор Krause Kuempel Lambert Landgraf Lang Larson Laubenberg Leach Longoria Lozano Lucio III Martinez Metcalf Meyer Miller Minjarez Moody Morrison Muñoz, Jr. Murphy Murr Neave Nevárez Oliveira

Goldman

Oliverson Gonzales of Williamson Ortega Paddie Parker Paul Perez Phelan Phillips Pickett Price Raney Raymond Reynolds Rinaldi Roberts Rodriguez of Bexar Rodriguez of Travis Romero, Jr. Rose Sanford Schaefer Schofield Schubert Shaheen Sheffield Shine Simmons Smithee Springer Stephenson Stickland Stucky Swanson Thierry Thompson of Brazoria Thompson of Harris Tinderholt Turner Uresti VanDeaver Villalba Vo Walle White Wilson Workman Wray Wu Zedler Zerwas

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 1912 was adopted by the House on May 10, 2017, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House