## RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, Richard Briley is retiring as managing director of 2 Health and Code Compliance for the City of Garland on June 30, 2017, concluding a distinguished career that has spanned 28 years; and 3 WHEREAS, Dedicated to public and environmental health, 4 5 Mr. Briley has guided the department with skill, vision, and a spirit of innovation; he has launched a number of effective 6 risk-based food 7 initiatives, and the service inspection methodology he developed and implemented in Garland has been 8 adopted as the national standard used in all U.S. Food and Drug 9 Administration training manuals for health inspectors; and 10 11 WHEREAS, Mr. Briley has benefited his profession at the state 12 level in a number of leadership roles; he was an officer of the Texas Environmental Health Association for 15 years and served as 13 14 president in 2004; in addition, he was president of the Texas Association of Municipal Health Officials and served on the board 15 16 of the Texas Municipal League; and WHEREAS, In 2009, Mr. Briley assisted State Representative 17 Angie Chen Button with H.B. 1530, transferring licensure of public 18 health mosquito spraying to the Texas Department of Agriculture; 19 the passage of this bill allowed health departments across the 20 21 state to ramp up mosquito control activities to confront the threat of West Nile, Dengue, and Zika virus outbreaks; Mr. Briley is the 22 23 author or co-author of numerous journal articles, and he has

written several policy opinions at the request of the Office of the

24

H.R. No. 1940

- 1 Texas Attorney General; among other accolades, he received the 2005
- 2 I. E. Scott Award, recognizing him as the state's top health
- 3 professional, and he was awarded a Certificate of Merit from the
- 4 National Environmental Health Association as one of the nation's
- 5 top-performing environmental health professionals; and
- 6 WHEREAS, Mr. Briley was previously employed by Hunt County
- 7 for five years as county sanitarian; he holds both a bachelor's and
- 8 a master's degree in biological sciences from Texas A&M
- 9 University--Commerce; and
- 10 WHEREAS, For more than a quarter century, Richard Briley has
- 11 devoted himself to the health, safety, and well-being of his fellow
- 12 citizens in Garland and beyond, and his outstanding contributions
- 13 will continue to resonate in the years to come; now, therefore, be
- 14 it
- RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 85th Texas
- 16 Legislature hereby congratulate Richard Briley on his retirement as
- 17 managing director of Health and Code Compliance for the City of
- 18 Garland and extend to him sincere best wishes for continued
- 19 happiness; and, be it further
- 20 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
- 21 prepared for Mr. Briley as an expression of high regard by the Texas  $\frac{1}{2}$
- 22 House of Representatives.

 ${\tt Button}$ 

## H.R. No. 1940

Straus Goldman Oliverson Allen Gonzales of Williamson Ortega González of El Paso Alonzo Paddie Alvarado Gooden Parker Anchia Guerra Paul Anderson of Dallas Guillen Perez Anderson of McLennan Gutierrez Phelan Arévalo Hefner Phillips Ashby Hernandez Pickett Bailes Herrero Price Bell Hinojosa Raney Holland Bernal Raymond Reynolds Biedermann Howard Huberty Rinaldi Blanco Bohac Hunter Roberts Bonnen of Brazoria Isaac Rodriguez of Bexar Bonnen of Galveston Israel Rodriguez of Travis Johnson of Dallas Burkett Romero, Jr. Burns Johnson of Harris Rose Burrows Kacal Sanford Button Keough Schaefer King of Hemphill Schofield Cain Canales King of Parker Schubert Capriglione King of Uvalde Shaheen Sheffield Clardy Klick Коор Shine Coleman Collier Krause Simmons Cook Kuempel Smithee Cortez Lambert Springer Cosper Landgraf Stephenson Craddick Stickland Lang Larson Stucky Cyrier Dale Laubenberg Swanson Darby Thierry Leach Davis of Dallas Longoria Thompson of Brazoria Davis of Harris Thompson of Harris Lozano Lucio III Tinderholt Deshotel Martinez Turner Dukes Metcalf Uresti Dutton Meyer VanDeaver Miller Elkins Villalba Faircloth Minjarez Vo Fallon Walle Moody Farrar Morrison White Wilson Flynn Muñoz, Jr. Frank Murphy Workman Frullo Murr Wray Geren Neave Wıı Zedler Gervin-Hawkins Nevárez

Zerwas

Oliveira

Giddings

	H.R. No. 1940
	Speaker of the House
I certify that H.R. No. 1940	was adopted by the House on May 9,
2017, by a non-record vote.	
	Chief Clerk of the House