RESOLUTION

WHEREAS, The 300th anniversary of the founding of San Antonio
is being commemorated in 2018; and

3 WHEREAS, San Antonio's roots can be traced back to an encampment known by local indigenous people as Yanaguana, which 4 5 meant "the clear water" in their native language; in the late 1600s, Spanish explorers traveled through the area and gave it the name San 6 7 Antonio de Padua; the site, located halfway between northern Mexico and Spanish settlements in East Texas, was subsequently chosen by 8 9 Spanish authorities for the establishment of a permanent community; 10 and

11 WHEREAS, On May 1, 1718, Martín de Alarcón, the governor of 12 Coahuila y Tejas, and Fray Antonio de San Buenaventura y Olivares founded Mission San Antonio de Valero west of San Pedro Springs; 13 14 moved several times before its present site was chosen in 1724, the mission would later become a fortress known as the Alamo; on May 5, 15 16 1718, the Spaniards also established a garrison, the Presidio San Antonio de Béjar, to protect the new mission, and the soldiers' 17 families composed a rudimentary civilian settlement; four other 18 missions were planted in the area over the next decade and a half, 19 20 and when a group of Canary Islanders arrived in 1731, the civilian 21 settlement was organized as a villa, San Fernando de Béjar; the only town in Texas to enjoy municipal status during Spanish rule, San 22 23 Fernando became the capital of Texas in 1773; following the Texas 24 Revolution, San Antonio, as the town was now called, was chartered

1

1 as the seat of Bexar County; and

2 WHEREAS, With the advent of the city's 300th anniversary in 3 2018, the San Antonio Tricentennial Celebration Commission has 4 partnered with hundreds of local organizations to plan a year of 5 festivities that emphasize history and education, community 6 service, and arts and culture, all culminating in a week of 7 commemorative events; and

8 WHEREAS, For three centuries, the Alamo City has played a 9 central role in the story of the Lone Star State, and it is a 10 pleasure to join its residents in celebrating this notable 11 milestone as they continue to build an even brighter future; now, 12 therefore, be it

13 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 85th Texas 14 Legislature hereby commemorate the 300th anniversary of the 15 founding of San Antonio and extend to its citizens sincere best 16 wishes for a memorable and meaningful tricentennial celebration; 17 and, be it further

18 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be 19 prepared for the City of San Antonio as an expression of high regard 20 by the Texas House of Representatives.

Bernal

2

Straus Allen Alonzo Alvarado Anchia Anderson of Dallas Anderson of McLennan Arévalo Ashby Bailes Bell Bernal Biedermann Blanco Bohac Bonnen of Brazoria Bonnen of Galveston Burkett Burns Burrows Button Cain Canales Capriglione Clardy Coleman Collier Cook Cortez Cosper Craddick Cyrier Dale Darby Davis of Dallas Davis of Harris Dean Deshotel Dukes Dutton Elkins Faircloth Fallon Farrar Flynn Frank Frullo Geren Gervin-Hawkins Giddings

Gonzales of Williamson Ortega González of El Paso Gooden Guerra Guillen Gutierrez Hefner Hernandez Herrero Hinojosa Holland Howard Huberty Hunter Isaac Israel Johnson of Dallas Johnson of Harris Kacal Keough King of Hemphill King of Parker King of Uvalde Klick Коор Krause Kuempel Lambert Landgraf Lang Larson Laubenberg Leach Longoria Lozano Lucio III Martinez Metcalf Meyer Miller Minjarez Moody Morrison Muñoz, Jr. Murphy Murr Neave Nevárez Oliveira

Goldman

Oliverson Paddie Parker Paul Perez Phelan Phillips Pickett Price Raney Raymond Reynolds Rinaldi Roberts Rodriguez of Bexar Rodriguez of Travis Romero, Jr. Rose Sanford Schaefer Schofield Schubert Shaheen Sheffield Shine Simmons Smithee Springer Stephenson Stickland Stucky Swanson Thierry Thompson of Brazoria Thompson of Harris Tinderholt Turner Uresti VanDeaver Villalba Vo Walle White Wilson Workman Wray Wu Zedler Zerwas

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 1950 was adopted by the House on May 10, 2017, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House