## RESOLUTION

- 1 WHEREAS, Mary Ann Whiteker is retiring as superintendent of
- 2 the Hudson Independent School District on June 30, 2017, drawing to
- 3 a close an outstanding career in education that has spanned nearly
- 4 four and a half decades; and
- 5 WHEREAS, After graduating as valedictorian of her class at
- 6 Corrigan-Camden High School, Ms. Whiteker studied education at
- 7 Stephen F. Austin State University, where she earned both her
- 8 bachelor's and master's degrees; and
- 9 WHEREAS, Ms. Whiteker began her career teaching first grade
- 10 at Corrigan-Camden Elementary School in 1973; she became elementary
- 11 curriculum supervisor for Corrigan-Camden ISD in 1984, and the
- 12 following year, she accepted the post of district curriculum
- 13 director; in 1986, she transferred to Hudson ISD to work as its
- 14 curriculum director, and she went on to serve as assistant
- 15 superintendent and interim superintendent before being named
- 16 superintendent in 1995; and
- WHEREAS, Over the course of her tenure at the helm of Hudson
- 18 ISD, Ms. Whiteker has helped pass two bond issues totaling \$24
- 19 million; she has been instrumental in the district's earning high
- 20 rankings from the Texas Education Agency, Standard and Poor's, and
- 21 the Texas Education and Business Coalition, among others; she also
- 22 helped establish the Beth and Horace Stubblefield Learning Center,
- 23 a facility designed to help students at risk of dropping out of
- 24 school; and

1 WHEREAS, A statewide leader in her professional community, Ms. Whiteker has been active with the Texas Association of School 2 3 Administrators; she is a past president of the Texas Association of Midsize Schools and the Texas Association of Community Schools, and 4 5 she has served on the boards of the Region VII Education Service Center and the Texas Association of Suburban/Mid-Urban Schools; in 6 recognition of her contributions, she was presented with the Golden 7 8 Anvil Award for Community Service from the Pineywoods Foundation, and she was appointed by Governor Rick Perry to serve on the Interim 9 10 Committee for School Finance; moreover, she has twice been named Superintendent of the Year for Region VII, and in 2015, she was 11 12 named Texas Superintendent of the Year; and WHEREAS, In addition to her professional achievements, 13 14 Ms. Whiteker has been active with the Lufkin/Angelina County 15 Chamber of Commerce, the Angelina County Drug-Free Communities and Schools task force, the Chamber Coalition for a Better Community, 16 17 and the Lufkin Rotary Club; she is also a valued congregant of First United Methodist Church; and 18 19 WHEREAS, Ms. Whiteker's dedication to the highest standards of her profession has benefited countless students in East Texas, 20 and she may reflect with pride on a career well spent as she embarks 21 upon the next exciting chapter of her life; now, therefore, be it 22 23 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 85th Texas 24 Legislature hereby congratulate Mary Ann Whiteker on her retirement as superintendent of the Hudson Independent School District and 25 26 extend to her sincere best wishes for the future; and, be it further 27 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be

- 1 prepared for Ms. Whiteker as an expression of high regard by the  $\ensuremath{\text{1}}$
- 2 Texas House of Representatives.

Ashby

Straus Goldman Oliverson Allen Gonzales of Williamson Ortega González of El Paso Alonzo Paddie Alvarado Gooden Parker Anchia Guerra Paul Anderson of Dallas Guillen Perez Anderson of McLennan Gutierrez Phelan Arévalo Hefner Phillips Ashby Hernandez Pickett Bailes Herrero Price Hinojosa Bell Raney Holland Bernal Raymond Biedermann Howard Reynolds Huberty Rinaldi Blanco Bohac Hunter Roberts Bonnen of Brazoria Isaac Rodriguez of Bexar Bonnen of Galveston Israel Rodriguez of Travis Johnson of Dallas Burkett Romero, Jr. Burns Johnson of Harris Rose Burrows Kacal Sanford Button Keough Schaefer King of Hemphill Schofield Cain Canales King of Parker Schubert Capriglione King of Uvalde Shaheen Sheffield Clardy Klick Коор Coleman Shine Collier Krause Simmons Cook Kuempel Smithee Cortez Lambert Springer Cosper Landgraf Stephenson Craddick Stickland Lang Larson Stucky Cyrier Dale Laubenberg Swanson Darby Thierry Leach Davis of Dallas Longoria Thompson of Brazoria Davis of Harris Thompson of Harris Lozano Lucio III Tinderholt Deshotel Martinez Turner Dukes Metcalf Uresti Dutton Meyer VanDeaver Miller Elkins Villalba Faircloth Minjarez Vo Fallon Walle Moody Farrar Morrison White Flynn Muñoz, Jr. Wilson Frank Murphy Workman Frullo Murr Wray Geren Neave Wıı Zedler Gervin-Hawkins Nevárez

Zerwas

Oliveira

Giddings

	H.R. No. 1959
	Speaker of the House
I certify that H.R. No. 1959 v 2017, by a non-record vote.	was adopted by the House on May 9,
	Chief Clerk of the House