## RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, Kim Caston is stepping down as president of the 2 Richardson Independent School District Board of Trustees in May 3 2017, concluding 10 years of dedicated service to that body; and WHEREAS, First elected to the board in 2007, Kim Caston held 4 the offices of vice president, secretary, and treasurer before 5 being named president in 2014; during her distinguished tenure, she 6 7 has worked closely with three superintendents, as well as with parents, teachers, school administrators, and concerned citizens 8 9 to foster a supportive and challenging environment at district schools; among other achievements, she played an instrumental role 10 11 in securing voter approval in 2016 for the largest bond referendum 12 in the district's history; and WHEREAS, In addition to fulfilling her duties on the board, 13 14 Ms. Caston has served the district in a number of other capacities over the years; she was president of the Parent Teacher Association 15 16 and the J. J. Pearce Athletic Booster Club, director of the Pearce Excellence in Education Fund, and chair of the 2006 Vote Yes RISD 17 Community Bond Campaign; moreover, she has been a member of the RISD 18 Council of PTAs, the RISD Budget Review Team, and the RISD District 19 20 Planning Committee, and at the state level, she has been active with 21 the Texas Association of School Boards, serving on its Legislative Advisory Council and its North Texas Regional Consortium board; and 22 23 WHEREAS, Ms. Caston is a graduate of Richardson High School, 24 and she holds a bachelor's degree in business administration from

## H.R. No. 1977

- 1 the University of Arkansas and a master's degree in marketing from
- 2 Louisiana State University; she enjoyed a 17-year career in the
- 3 beverage industry that included a decade on the executive
- 4 management team at the Coca-Cola Company, and in 1996, she became a
- 5 founding partner of Communications & Management Consulting; and
- 6 WHEREAS, The people of Richardson have benefited
- 7 immeasurably from this esteemed Texan's vision and leadership, and
- 8 her efforts have helped provide countless local students with a
- 9 strong academic foundation on which to build a bright and
- 10 prosperous future; now, therefore, be it
- 11 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 85th Texas
- 12 Legislature hereby honor Kim Caston for her service on the
- 13 Richardson Independent School District Board of Trustees and extend
- 14 to her sincere best wishes for the future; and, be it further
- 15 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
- 16 prepared for Ms. Caston as an expression of high regard by the Texas
- 17 House of Representatives.

Koop

## H.R. No. 1977

Straus Allen Alonzo Alvarado Anchia Anderson of Dallas Anderson of McLennan Arévalo Ashby Bailes Bell Bernal Biedermann Blanco Bohac Bonnen of Brazoria Bonnen of Galveston Burkett Burns Burrows Button Cain Canales Capriglione Clardy Coleman Collier Cook Cortez Cosper Craddick Cyrier Dale Darby Davis of Dallas Davis of Harris Dean Deshotel Dukes Dutton Elkins Faircloth Fallon Farrar Flynn Frank Frullo	Goldman Gonzales of Williamson González of El Paso Gooden Guerra Guillen Gutierrez Hefner Hernandez Herrero Hinojosa Holland Howard Huberty Hunter Isaac Israel Johnson of Dallas Johnson of Harris Kacal Keough King of Hemphill King of Parker King of Uvalde Klick Koop Krause Kuempel Lambert Landgraf Lang Larson Laubenberg Leach Longoria Lozano Lucio III Martinez Metcalf Meyer Miller Minjarez Moody Morrison Muñoz, Jr. Murphy Murr	Oliverson Ortega Paddie Parker Paul Perez Phelan Phillips Pickett Price Raney Raymond Reynolds Rinaldi Roberts Rodriguez of Bexar Rodriguez of Travis Romero, Jr. Rose Sanford Schaefer Schofield Schubert Shaheen Sheffield Schubert Shaheen Sheffield Shine Simmons Smithee Springer Stephenson Stickland Stucky Swanson Thierry Thompson of Brazoria Thompson of Harris Tinderholt Turner Uresti VanDeaver Villalba Vo Walle White Wilson Workman Wray
Frullo	Murr	Wray
Geren	Neave	Wu
Gervin-Hawkins	Nevárez	Zedler
Giddings	Oliveira	Zerwas

	H.R. No. 1977
	Speaker of the House
I certify that H.R. No. 1977 wa	as adopted by the House on May 10,
2017, by a non-record vote.	
	Chief Clerk of the House