RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, Elsie Chen has been named valedictorian of the Class 2 of 2017 at Sharpstown International School in Houston, and she 3 indeed merits special recognition for receiving this significant 4 honor; and

5 WHEREAS, Earning the title of valedictorian requires not only 6 intellect and aptitude but also four years of dedication to the 7 highest academic standards; in securing her place as the 8 top-ranking student in her class, Ms. Chen demonstrated a thorough 9 understanding of a wide range of subjects, and her attainment of 10 this coveted distinction is the crowning achievement of a notable 11 high school career; and

12 WHEREAS, Ms. Chen has successfully balanced a challenging 13 academic course load with a number of extracurricular activities, 14 including her performances with the school's wind ensemble and her 15 involvement with the student council and The Woods Project; in her 16 free time, she enjoys playing billiards and Tetris and singing 17 karaoke; after graduation, she plans to pursue a degree in 18 neurobiology at Washington University; and

WHEREAS, During her years at Sharpstown International School, Elsie Chen has earned the respect and admiration of her teachers and classmates, and her exceptional scholastic ability and commitment to excellence have opened the way to a bright and promising future for this outstanding young Texan; now, therefore, be it

1

1 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 85th Texas 2 Legislature hereby congratulate Elsie Chen, valedictorian of the 3 Sharpstown International School Class of 2017, and extend to her 4 sincere best wishes for continued success as she begins the next 5 exciting chapter of her life; and, be it further

6 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be 7 prepared for Ms. Chen as an expression of high regard by the Texas 8 House of Representatives.

Wu

Straus Allen Alonzo Alvarado Anchia Anderson of Dallas Anderson of McLennan Arévalo Ashby Bailes Bell Bernal Biedermann Blanco Bohac Bonnen of Brazoria Bonnen of Galveston Burkett Burns Burrows Button Cain Canales Capriglione Clardy Coleman Collier Cook Cortez Cosper Craddick Cyrier Dale Darby Davis of Dallas Davis of Harris Dean Deshotel Dukes Dutton Elkins Faircloth Fallon Farrar Flynn Frank Frullo Geren Gervin-Hawkins Giddings

Gonzales of Williamson Ortega González of El Paso Gooden Guerra Guillen Gutierrez Hefner Hernandez Herrero Hinojosa Holland Howard Huberty Hunter Isaac Israel Johnson of Dallas Johnson of Harris Kacal Keough King of Hemphill King of Parker King of Uvalde Klick Коор Krause Kuempel Lambert Landgraf Lang Larson Laubenberg Leach Longoria Lozano Lucio III Martinez Metcalf Meyer Miller Minjarez Moody Morrison Muñoz, Jr. Murphy Murr Neave Nevárez Oliveira

Goldman

Oliverson Paddie Parker Paul Perez Phelan Phillips Pickett Price Raney Raymond Reynolds Rinaldi Roberts Rodriguez of Bexar Rodriguez of Travis Romero, Jr. Rose Sanford Schaefer Schofield Schubert Shaheen Sheffield Shine Simmons Smithee Springer Stephenson Stickland Stucky Swanson Thierry Thompson of Brazoria Thompson of Harris Tinderholt Turner Uresti VanDeaver Villalba Vo Walle White Wilson Workman Wray Wu Zedler Zerwas

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 2008 was adopted by the House on May 23, 2017, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House