H.R. No. 2009

RESOLUTION

- 1 WHEREAS, Jelani Kelley has been designated a co-salutatorian
- 2 of the Class of 2017 at Sharpstown International School in Houston,
- 3 and he indeed merits special recognition for this significant
- 4 accomplishment; and
- 5 WHEREAS, Earning the title of salutatorian requires not only
- 6 intellect and aptitude but also four years of dedication to the
- 7 highest academic standards; in securing his place as one of the
- 8 three top-ranking students in his class, Mr. Kelley demonstrated a
- 9 thorough understanding of a wide range of subjects, and his
- 10 attainment of this coveted distinction is the crowning achievement
- 11 of a notable high school career; and
- WHEREAS, In addition to excelling academically, Mr. Kelley
- 13 has participated in numerous extracurricular activities, including
- 14 the National Honor Society, jazz band, and wind ensemble, and he is
- 15 the recipient of a President's Award for Educational Excellence, an
- 16 AP Scholar with Distinction award, and a QuestBridge National
- 17 College Match Scholarship; after graduation, he plans to pursue a
- 18 degree in computer science at Duke University; and
- 19 WHEREAS, During his years at Sharpstown International
- 20 School, Jelani Kelley has earned the respect and admiration of his
- 21 teachers and classmates, and his exceptional scholastic ability and
- 22 commitment to excellence have opened the way to a bright and
- 23 promising future for this outstanding young Texan; now, therefore,
- 24 be it

H.R. No. 2009

RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 85th Texas

Legislature hereby congratulate Jelani Kelley on his designation as

a co-salutatorian of the Sharpstown International School Class of

2017 and extend to him sincere best wishes for continued success as

he begins the next exciting chapter of his life; and, be it further

RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be

prepared for Mr. Kelley as an expression of high regard by the Texas

House of Representatives.

Wu

H.R. No. 2009

Straus Allen Alonzo Alvarado Anchia Anderson of Dallas Anderson of McLennan Arévalo Ashby Bailes Bell Bernal Biedermann Blanco Bohac Bonnen of Brazoria Bonnen of Galveston Burkett Burns Burrows Button Cain Canales Capriglione Clardy Coleman Collier Cook Cortez	Goldman Gonzales of Williamson González of El Paso Gooden Guerra Guillen Gutierrez Hefner Hernandez Herrero Hinojosa Holland Howard Huberty Hunter Isaac Israel Johnson of Dallas Johnson of Harris Kacal Keough King of Hemphill King of Parker King of Uvalde Klick Koop Krause Kuempel Lambert	Oliverson Ortega Paddie Parker Paul Perez Phelan Phillips Pickett Price Raney Raymond Reynolds Rinaldi Roberts Rodriguez of Bexar Rodriguez of Travis Romero, Jr. Rose Sanford Schaefer Schofield Schubert Shaheen Sheffield Shine Simmons Smithee Springer
Craddick Cyrier Dale	Lang Larson	Stickland Stucky Swanson
Darby	Laubenberg Leach	Thierry
Davis of Dallas	Longoria	Thompson of Brazoria
Davis of Harris Dean	Lozano Lucio III	Thompson of Harris Tinderholt
Deshotel	Martinez	Turner
Dukes	Metcalf	Uresti
Dutton	Meyer	VanDeaver
Elkins	Miller	Villalba
Faircloth	Minjarez	Vo
Fallon Farrar	Moody Morrison	Walle White
Flynn	Muñoz, Jr.	Wilson
Frank	Murphy	Workman
Frullo	Murr	Wray
Geren	Neave	Wu
Gervin-Hawkins	Nevárez	Zedler
Giddings	Oliveira	Zerwas

	H.R. No. 2009
	Speaker of the House
I certify that H.R. No. 2009 was	adopted by the House on May 23,
2017, by a non-record vote.	
	Chief Clerk of the House